Welcome to Geeklog Tuesday, October 17 2017 @ 11:52 pm EDT


Status: offline

Roccivic

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 19/05/2010
Posts: 136
I started putting together an online translation system for Geeklog over the last few days.
Nothing spectacular, but it is certainly better than not having anything at all and translating "blind".

So, here's the current status of all Geeklog translations, according to this system:
http://www.placella.com/gl/translations.png

Right now there is support for basic functions: status, import, export, check (missing strings, etc) and edit.
I know it's not much, but I'm also thinking of adding a glossary, fuzzy matching and other features later.
To edit the content a user can login with his Google account.

I've uploaded a live DEMO version, for translating the forum plugin, here

One issue on the above demo site is that I had to bypass the login system (users can log in without a password) as my server is running PHP4 and the openID library that I chose uses PHP5 Frown

So, I welcome your feedback and suggestions.

Rouslan

EDIT: New demo is available, view: http://www.geeklog.net/forum/viewtopic.php?showtopic=92658

Status: offline

Laugh

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 27/09/2005
Posts: 1230
Interesting idea and I see it being very useful for translators.

Do you see the possiblity of converting this to a Geeklog Plugin?

The only features I could think of at the moment would be:

1) Support for translating multiple items (Geeklog and/or one or more plugins).

2) Allow another language to be displayed instead of English in case someone is translating say French Canadian to French from France

Of course I am not a translator so I am sure others will have better ideas...

Tom

One of the Geeklog Core Developers.

Status: offline

::Ben

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 14/01/2005
Posts: 1569
Location:la rochelle, France
Yes, could it be a plugin on geeklog.net?

Ben

I'm available to customise your themes or plugins for your Geeklog CMS

Status: offline

Roccivic

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 19/05/2010
Posts: 136
Quote by: Laugh

Interesting idea and I see it being very useful for translators.

I came across Pootle while doing a bit of work for phpMyAdmin: https://l10n.cihar.com/projects/phpmyadmin/
Unfortunately, it's for gettext (I wish we used gettext in Geeklog, too...) only. That's where the idea comes from...
Oh, and Pootle merges into GIT automatically, but we probably don't want anything like that...


Quote by: Laugh

The only features I could think of at the moment would be:

1) Support for translating multiple items (Geeklog and/or one or more plugins).

LOL, I thought of that as well, but the reality is that right now my scripts can't even support Geeklog alone. That's the reason why the demo site is for the Forum Plugin (only 3 languages and not too many strings). The whole system is still very far from optimal, with a lot of database optimisation work on the horizon...


Quote by: Laugh

2) Allow another language to be displayed instead of English in case someone is translating say French Canadian to French from France

Nice one, Wouldn't have thought of that...


Quote by: cordiste

Yes, could it be a plugin on geeklog.net?

Yes, I thought of that as well.
But right now I'm just broadly looking for some feedback. If there is enough interest in this, then packaging everything in a plugin would be pretty simple.

Rouslan

Status: offline

::Ben

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 14/01/2005
Posts: 1569
Location:la rochelle, France
...translating say French Canadian to French from France...


Yes this feature could allow to make dependencies. I'm thinking of is the ability to get multi same language translation. Sometime admin users tell they need more commercial, more artistic, more fun language... So we will need french_france_commercial, french_france_artistic, french_france_fun files.

So any new data added to the english file will be added to french_france file and any new data on the french_france file will also be added to the french_france_commercial adaptation.

Ben
I'm available to customise your themes or plugins for your Geeklog CMS

Status: offline

Laugh

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 27/09/2005
Posts: 1230
Oh, and Pootle merges into GIT automatically, but we probably don't want anything like that...


No I wouldn't think so. I think writing directly to a second set of files (not the ones in use) would be good enough (or is all this stored in the DB?). We can then transfer it out when needed.


Tom
One of the Geeklog Core Developers.

Status: offline

gape

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 30/05/2002
Posts: 135
i loged in, but it seems nothing works ...

Status: offline

Roccivic

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 19/05/2010
Posts: 136
Quote by: cordiste

...translating say French Canadian to French from France...


Yes this feature could allow to make dependencies. I'm thinking of is the ability to get multi same language translation. Sometime admin users tell they need more commercial, more artistic, more fun language... So we will need french_france_commercial, french_france_artistic, french_france_fun files.

So any new data added to the english file will be added to french_france file and any new data on the french_france file will also be added to the french_france_commercial adaptation.

Ben


Sounds interesting for the future...

Quote by: Laugh

Oh, and Pootle merges into GIT automatically, but we probably don't want anything like that...

No I wouldn't think so. I think writing directly to a second set of files (not the ones in use) would be good enough (or is all this stored in the DB?). We can then transfer it out when needed.


It's all in the DB, yeah. Flat files just won't cut it for this IMO.

Quote by: gape

i loged in, but it seems nothing works ...


Can you be more specific?

Status: offline

gape

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 30/05/2002
Posts: 135
im sorry
bad choice of words
i could see things and probably even change in 2 languages

when i loged in there is not much to do ...

i would like to upload slovenian - so i can test it out - but it said it will destroy database or sumting ...

Status: offline

Roccivic

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 19/05/2010
Posts: 136
Quote by: gape

i could see things and probably even change in 2 languages


That's the user interface (as opposed to admin interface) and it's mostly what I'm interested with receiving feedback for.
Things like: does the layout make sense? Is there something missing? Is the workflow reasonable?

Quote by: gape

when i loged in there is not much to do ...


The admin interface is not completely functional. But you can see it catching errors in the German translation if you hit "check consistency"...

Quote by: gape

i would like to upload slovenian - so i can test it out - but it said it will destroy database or sumting ...


The files are to be uploaded via FTP and then imported through the script. It was the fastest way to get the prototype up and running. But yeah, they should be handled by the browser via POST requests.

Status: offline

Laugh

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 27/09/2005
Posts: 1230
The other thing I thought of as a future feature would be to hook into Google's Translation API so if an Admin has an 85% filled language file and no one has volunteered to finish it, at least he could get the rest of the file translated automatically (though not 100% accurate).

Tom
One of the Geeklog Core Developers.

Status: offline

1000ideen

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 04/08/2003
Posts: 1289
I`m always a bit reluctant with new things. I prefer copy and paste or replacing of similar passages in the text files. After a while I know approx. in which line it was and I can navigate. This would not be given in the new system.

Status: offline

Roccivic

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 19/05/2010
Posts: 136
Quote by: 1000ideen

I`m always a bit reluctant with new things. I prefer copy and paste or replacing of similar passages in the text files. After a while I know approx. in which line it was and I can navigate. This would not be given in the new system.


Sounds like its fuzzy matching that you would like. Well, as I briefly mentioned above, I do intend to offer that feature Wink

Quote by: Laugh

The other thing I thought of as a future feature would be to hook into Google's Translation API so if an Admin has an 85% filled language file and no one has volunteered to finish it, at least he could get the rest of the file translated automatically (though not 100% accurate).


I guess it's not a bad idea, but that API better be simple Big Grin

All times are EDT. The time is now 11:52 pm.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content