Welcome to Geeklog Monday, October 25 2021 @ 12:34 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

Read More missing


Admin emailmenow

Anonymous
tired
On this site emailmenow.com.

Read more link only appears on the first few articles.
The rest on articles only have a link for comments.

How can I correct this?
I am using Geeklog (1.7.1sr1)

Thanks in advance.
 Quote

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Hmm, that's odd. The presence of the "read more" link depends entirely on whether or not the story has a bodytext. Even a single blank in the bodytext would make it appear ...

bye, Dirk
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
Quote by: Admin emailmenow

On this site emailmenow.com.

Read more link only appears on the first few articles.
The rest on articles only have a link for comments.

How can I correct this?
I am using Geeklog (1.7.1sr1)

Thanks in advance.



Verify that the files storytext.thtml and storybodytext.thtml are copied over correctly from the archive. Same goes for the featuredstorytext.thtml and featuredstorybodytext.thtml files. If you've made custom changes these files, you may want to also verify that the changes are still valid.

Michael
 Quote

Admin Emailmenow

Anonymous
This is what I have for the files.

storytext.thtml
<div class="story">
<span class="story-icons">
{email_icon}
{print_icon}
{edit_icon}
</span>
<h1>{story_title_link}</h1>
<div class="story-information">
<p>{story_date}</p>
<p>{lang_contributed_by} {start_contributedby_anchortag}{contributedby_author}{end_contributedby_anchortag}</p>
<p>{lang_views} {story_hits}</p>
</div>
<div class="story-body">
{story_anchortag_and_image}{story_text_no_br}
</div><center>{socialshareicons}</center>
<div class="story-footer">
<p>{page_selector}</p>
<p>{readmore_link} {post_comment_link}</p>
<p>{plugin_itemdisplay}{comments_with_count} {trackbacks_with_count}</p>
</div>
</div>
<div class="block-divider"> </div>


storybodytext.thtml
&nbsp;

featuredstorytext.thtml
<div class="story-featured">
<span class="story-icons">
{email_icon}
{print_icon}
{edit_icon}
</span>
<h1>{story_title_link}</h1>
<div class="story-information">
<p>{story_date}</p>
<p>{lang_contributed_by} {start_contributedby_anchortag}{contributedby_author}{end_contributedby_anchortag}</p>
<p>{lang_views} {story_hits}</p>
</div>
<div class="story-body">
{story_anchortag_and_image}{story_text_no_br}
</div><center>{socialshareicons}</center>
<div class="story-footer">
<p>{page_selector}</p>
<p>{readmore_link} {post_comment_link}</p>
<p>{plugin_itemdisplay}{comments_with_count} {trackbacks_with_count}</p>
</div>
</div>
<div class="block-divider"> </div>

featuredstorybodytext.thtml
&nbsp;

The read more link is shown for usually the first two articles, then nothing after that.

 Quote

Admin Emailmenow

Anonymous
The Body box is not blank.

Also when the article was one of the top two, the read more link came up.

Thanks again
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
The only thing I can suggest at this point it to take a complete copy of the professional theme from the archive and copy it into a new folder and change your user settings to that theme and test it out again. If it goes back to the way it is supposed to work, then there is something going on with your custom theme. If not, then re-upload a fresh copy of the lib-common.php file into your public_html directory. If you are still having this issue, let us know.

Michael
 Quote

Admin Emailmenow

Anonymous
Took a look at the demo site .

There is one article and it does not have any entry in the body, so there is no read more link.

Thanks again for the help.
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
Quote by: Admin Emailmenow

Took a look at the demo site .

There is one article and it does not have any entry in the body, so there is no read more link.

Thanks again for the help.



Correct.

Your intro text is seen by itself only on the front page and if you had text or images in the body of the message, then there would be a read more link.

However, we are talking about your site, and not the demo site.

Alright...send me an email to the link below with access to your site and I'll take a quick look to see if there is something not right.

Michael
 Quote

Admin Emailmenow

Anonymous
On the site - http://worldsbest.emailmenow.com/
I copied the professional theme from the archive to professional.
Issue still remained

I re-upload a fresh copy of the lib-common.php file
Issue still remained

So I disabled all plugins and the issue was resolved.
I check to see if I can find out which plugin is causing the issue.

Thanks again.

 Quote

Admin Emailmenow

Anonymous
The plugin - Static Pages, seems to be causing the issue.

I have a static page link in most stories in the body, usually the first line of the body.
Example
[staticpage_content:20100420174545934]

Thanks again
 Quote

Admin Emailmenow

Anonymous
The plugin - Static Pages, seems to be causing the issue.

I have a static page link in most stories in the body, usually the first line of the body.
Example
staticpage_content:20100420174545934
*** I removed the brackets to prevent posting error. ***

Thanks again
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
Great....

Looks like your issue was resolved because of incorrect custom code.

Michael
 Quote

Admin Emailmenow

Anonymous
The issue seems to be the
1)Static Page plugin and the use of the
2) the use of the staticpage_content: command as the first line of the body.

If I remove the staticpage_content: command from the body, first line, the read more link appears on all stories without the command.

would it be possible for anyone to create a static page , then use the
command staticpage_content: as the first line in the body of an OLD (at least fifth from the top) story and see if the read more link works

Thanks
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
Quote by: Admin Emailmenow

The issue seems to be the
1)Static Page plugin and the use of the
2) the use of the staticpage_content: command as the first line of the body.

If I remove the staticpage_content: command from the body, first line, the read more link appears on all stories without the command.

would it be possible for anyone to create a static page , then use the
command staticpage_content: as the first line in the body of an OLD (at least fifth from the top) story and see if the read more link works

Thanks



What is the content of that staticpage?

Michael
 Quote

Admin Emailmenow

Anonymous
Quote by: ironmax

Quote by: Admin Emailmenow

The issue seems to be the
1)Static Page plugin and the use of the
2) the use of the staticpage_content: command as the first line of the body.

If I remove the staticpage_content: command from the body, first line, the read more link appears on all stories without the command.

would it be possible for anyone to create a static page , then use the
command staticpage_content: as the first line in the body of an OLD (at least fifth from the top) story and see if the read more link works

Thanks



What is the content of that staticpage?

Michael



This is the content of the static page
<p><span style="color: rgb(0, 255, 0); "><span style="font-size: x-large; "><span style="font-family: 'Comic Sans MS'; "><u><strong>&nbsp;World's Best - Emailmenow.com</strong></u></span></span></span></p>

Page Format: Left & Right Blocks
Mode: Comments disabled
Post Mode: Advanced Editor
Position: Top of Page
Topic: Homepage Only

Thanks
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
Quote by: Admin Emailmenow

Quote by: ironmax

Quote by: Admin Emailmenow

The issue seems to be the
1)Static Page plugin and the use of the
2) the use of the staticpage_content: command as the first line of the body.

If I remove the staticpage_content: command from the body, first line, the read more link appears on all stories without the command.

would it be possible for anyone to create a static page , then use the
command staticpage_content: as the first line in the body of an OLD (at least fifth from the top) story and see if the read more link works

Thanks



What is the content of that staticpage?

Michael



This is the content of the static page
<p><span style="color: rgb(0, 255, 0); "><span style="font-size: x-large; "><span style="font-family: 'Comic Sans MS'; "><u><strong>&nbsp;World's Best - Emailmenow.com</strong></u></span></span></span></p>

Page Format: Left & Right Blocks
Mode: Comments disabled
Post Mode: Advanced Editor
Position: Top of Page
Topic: Homepage Only

Thanks



I don't get it. Why are you trying to call this message up? Where is it supposed to be at when the reader sees it.

Michael
 Quote

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by: Admin Emailmenow

The issue seems to be the
1)Static Page plugin and the use of the
2) the use of the staticpage_content: command as the first line of the body.


Right, I've managed to reproduce the problem. This is a bug. Please submit a bug report (don't forget to point to this discussion).

bye, Dirk
 Quote

Admin Emailmenow

Anonymous
Thanks for all your help.
 Quote

Admin Emailmenow

Anonymous
Posted Bug Report
 Quote

All times are EDT. The time is now 12:34 am.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content