Welcome to Geeklog Tuesday, January 26 2021 @ 11:34 pm EST

Geeklog Forums

One shot at the config Gui then no more Changes stick.


Status: offline

TeMpTiN

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 16/03/05
Posts: 13
This morning I completed changing host companies and i figured it would be a good time to start over with a full fresh install of GL as i had been updating the last one from as far back as 2004.

The install went fine (twice) however it seems i get one shot at making any changes in the config Gui then I can not do anything else that needs to change the DB, so nothing saves.

I do have this error in the log

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 485862496 bytes) in Unknown on line 0

I searched the forum but this one has me puzzled about where to start.

Edit: to add more info

PHP
memory_limit 32MB

I am using the professional theme i have not had a chance to add anything wacky yet.

 Quote

Status: offline

TeMpTiN

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 16/03/05
Posts: 13
For giggles I wiped the install again, and did the naughty thing I installed 1.4.1 using Fantastico and I get a similar error so I will ponder on it till the morning and contact the host to see what they think.

However I can save changes.

Could the server software versions have anything to do with it
Apache version 2.2.9 (Unix)
PHP version 5.2.6
MySQL version 5.0.51a-community-log

I also can use PostgreSQL with this host I have not used it before and while i understand some may not like it i think i will give it a shot with my last install of the night and see if that clears anything up with 1.5.0.
 Quote

Status: offline

TeMpTiN

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 16/03/05
Posts: 13
Ok so I think I have part of the issue sorted.
Reinstalled with Mysql with inno and things are better.

But I still get this at the bottom of the pages

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 421776480 bytes) in Unknown on line 0

Thanks for your time.

Edit: Well I got to the images config section and when i went to set Imagemagick it reloaded to the the site config page and all changes are locked out.

 Quote

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by: TeMpTiN

PHP
memory_limit 32MB


Well, looks like you found the cause of the problem already.

I have to admit that I'm surprised that the Configuration would require so much memory - would be worth filing a bug report so we can look into it.

In the meantime, is there a chance you can get that limit raised? I see that the default in PHP (without a php.ini file) is now at 128MB, so 32MB sounds a bit restrictive.

bye, Dirk
 Quote

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Actually, I just tried it on a local (fresh) install with the memory_limit down to 8M and didn't run into any out-of-memory messages ...

bye, Dirk
 Quote

Status: offline

TeMpTiN

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 16/03/05
Posts: 13
Well it seems there are two problems.

1. The SQL connection is not showing any errors other than it is not receiving any changes from the site.
I did poke around and try a few things and found this on the server error.log

[Tue Aug 19 08:10:27 2008] [error] [client xx.xx.xx.xxx] client denied by server configuration: /home/thexxxx/public_html/gldgfc/error_log, referer: http://www.xxxxx.org/gldgfc/admin/configuration.php


2. The memory issue (on all pages)
Everything in the db_config and site_config files is correct my paths are good and as Dirk's test showed the while the memory_limit could be higher it should not need to be.

I am going to see what the hosting company has to say about these topics

Thanks again for the input.

Later, Dory
 Quote

Status: offline

TeMpTiN

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 16/03/05
Posts: 13
Well i got this response from the hosting Company and I will include it in a bug report.


This issue most likely relates to the script calling a function that in PHP5 64bit is causing some sort of memory issue. Now we have no way of knowing the exact function to produce it unfortunately. My gut just tells me it could be related to 64bit and is a PHP bug but of course it take line by line step through to determine where exactly the cause is.

Of course there are other ways to cause this such as GD and some other libraries like it.


 Quote

All times are EST. The time is now 11:34 pm.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content