Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Tuesday, May 14 2024 @ 01:26 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Story Owner unable to edit story

Jamie

Anonymous
Hello,

I am having difficulty setting up permissions on my Geeklog 1.4.1 site.

I have a topic owned by "Admin" with the standard group "Topic Admin".

I log in as a user who has "normal" permissions (All Users & Logged in Users) and submit a story. The story appears, but the owner does not have the ability to edit the story.

When I login as an admin, I see the edit link. So, I added the original user to the "Story Admin" and "Topic Admin" groups just to see if that would make a difference. It did not.

The permissions on the story default to 3,2,2,2 (read/write for owner, read for everyone else) and I verified that the story has those permissions.

What am I missing? I don't want to give all the users root permissions, in fact I'd rather not have them as story or topic admins if it can be avoided.

Thanks very much for your help.

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
:rtfm: Setting up a Story Admin

Jamie

Anonymous
Dirk,

Thanks for the response. I had tried the suggestions in that article prior to posting my own.

Sadly, I don't see what I am missing. As the owner of the article, a member of the story admin and topic admin groups, how is it possible they don't have the rights required?

Thanks again,
Jamie

Jamie

Anonymous
Dirk,

After reading the post a little more closely, I noticed the comment about requiring group edit rights.

I am all set now, thanks for helping.

Jamie

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Yeah, I realize how that FAQ article could be confusing as it's quoting the default settings from config.php and not how you should change them, i.e. (3, 3, 2, 2).

Glad to hear you figured it out nonetheless Big Grin

bye, Dirk

pv

Anonymous
I probably have a couple of questions from the same play.

1. Is there a way to do (set permissions, include users in any groups, etc) so that stories can only be edited by their creators?