Welcome to Geeklog Monday, November 20 2017 @ 07:49 pm EST


Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
I have my Config.php set to unicode character set so assume my database must also be Unicode, however when I paste unicode into a story (this is an asian font) it looks OK but then when I publish the coding goes... and I get a line of questionmarks What am I missing here ???
I guess I am wondering if I can mix character sets.... ????

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Is this a fresh or an existing install? If it's an existing install and you only switched to UTF-8 now, it's possible that your account is still using whatever non-UTF-8 character set you were using before.

Go to "My Account", switch to another language, save, switch back to your preferred language, save. Try again.

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
I am definately using the english UTF8 Character set as the caching engin is saving it as such and the SQL database reports as a UTF8 format, but if I paste a mixture of english and Tibetan the Tibetan just comes out as question marks.....
I guess if Config.php says unicode than it must be a unicode database...

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Could it be a font issue? I.e. the font used in the text input area is different from the one that's used to display the text?

Also, we are talking about Geeklog 1.4.1, aren't we?

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
That is very possible,
I can see the font when it is pasted it llooks fine, only when saving does it disapear...
I am using 1.4.1b2.... I hope that is OK...????
I will upgrade it's just I have so much custom code now....

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
You could also check what's in the database.

The change you'd need for proper UTF-8 handling is in 1.4.1b2, so you're lucky. But why are you using a beta version?

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
Because the updates in 141 b2 were essential for the site and I then did a load of custom code...
I will upgrade shortly to 1.4.1 proper...
the database it's self shows as a UNICODE database...

Status: offline

Laugh

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 27/09/2005
Posts: 1240
You may want to wait and upgrade to 1.5 when it comes out (hopefully soon) so you don't have to redo all your custom code again.
One of the Geeklog Core Developers.

Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
I may just do that..
When would that be out ? do you know ???
The database is a UTF8 Unicode Database
connection collation utf8_unicode_ci
So possibly it's the beta release code that is the problem...
So if 1.5 is coming soon I will wait...
Thanks...


Status: offline

Laugh

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 27/09/2005
Posts: 1240
Dirk could asnwer this better than I, but I would hope in a month or two.

They are mainly bug fixing at the moment.

One of the Geeklog Core Developers.

Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
Will 1.5 have any additions from Geeklog 2 in it ?
Or is Geeklog 2 going to be entirely different..?

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
GL2 is a completely different beast. 1.5 will mainly feature the things implemented for the Summer of Code (while we're already busy preparing for the next instance ...).

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
Will the database be upgradeable to geeklog 2 or will it be totally seperate ?
I would love to upgrade a whole site to geeklog 2 when it arrives...
is there any ETA yet ?
Will this be a completely new animal on the CMS / Blog Scene ??

Status: offline

r_f_o_t

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 30/07/2003
Posts: 241
Location:Illinois
Quote by: trampoline

Will the database be upgradeable to geeklog 2 or will it be totally seperate ?
I would love to upgrade a whole site to geeklog 2 when it arrives...
is there any ETA yet ?
Will this be a completely new animal on the CMS / Blog Scene ??



See Tony's post here.

HTH,

Chuck
Too many hands on my time.

Status: offline

samstone

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/09/2002
Posts: 820
I remember 1.4.1b2 had a lot of issues, but don't remember if it had issues with Unicode.

Have you check if the table collation is also utf-8? Because database can be utf-8 but the tables might not be the same.

Edit: Now I remember that if you didn't create the database as utf-8 from the very beginning, your tables won't change to utf-8 by merely changing the database's collation.

Peace!

Sam

Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
Correct !!!
You are right the database is unicode but the table collation is latin1_swedish_ci
So what on earth do I do now ???
I am certain I did get unicode text in there once so I must have accidentaly changed it.
How do I change it back ???

Status: offline

samstone

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/09/2002
Posts: 820
As far as I remember from my experience, you didn't change anything. The pre GL 1.4.1 works with Unicode fine with the none Unicode collation. Don't ask me why . Starting with 1.4.1b2 the developers did something to make GL more Unicode compatible, which somehow made it stop working with none-unicode tables.

Well, I remember those nightmare days. Depending on the sites I had, for some sites I had to change every table one by one to Unicode collation; took a lot of patience. For others, I just recreated new databases with Unicode from scratch.

Again, another potential problem is, depending on the way your server is configured. GL installation might still create Swedish collation on the tables at installation. You have to edit my.conf to make the new databases and tables created automatically in Unicode. In my case, that broke some older sites, so I had to reverse it. I think PHP5 and MySQL5 would not have this problem because they can be purely utf-8. I have PHP5, but dare not yet upgrade to MySQL5 worrying that some sites might be affected, but I might do it when I can afford some unforeseen down time.

In any case, the easiest method is to change the table collations one by one. For instant solution, just change the story table to utf-8.

Hope this helps!

Sam

Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
I just want to change the Story & Forum postings to Unicode then maybe the whole site,
So you think the transition in SQL 5 is easier ?
Would I do this with sql Administrator ?
I guess I am asking is it possible to do a straight conversion fairly easily.
What did you mean by going to SQL 5 does that make this easier or does sql 5 just handle unicode anyway ?
Thanks for any help...

Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
So I now have SQL Administrator up and running.
I have the table gl_stories and I have gone to the panel where I can set the default character set..
I have backed up and would like to change the default to UTF-8 Unicode
and Collation to what ?

utf8_general_ci
or
utf8_unicode_ci

?

Do I do this for the whole story table ??
I guess I can do this for any part of the systems I want to use Unicode for ???

Looks dangerously easy...


Status: offline

trampoline

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 24/02/2006
Posts: 392
OK so I just did it as I could not wait to see what happened.
I changed the gl_stories Table into
UTF-8 Unicode
with collation set to
utf8_unicode_ci

Still no difference ...
Unicode not showing...

All times are EST. The time is now 07:49 pm.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content