Topics

User Functions

Events

There are no upcoming events

What's New

Stories last 2 weeks

No new stories

Comments last 2 weeks

No new comments

Trackbacks last 2 weeks

No new trackback comments

Links last 2 weeks

No recent new links

NEW FILES last 14 days

No new files

Welcome to Geeklog Thursday, April 24 2014 @ 10:27 PM EDT


 Forum Index > Support > Installation Support New Topic Post Reply
 installation in the root directory questions
   
Anonymous: newtogeeklog
 10/11/07 12:39PM (Read 10796 times)  



Ive got hosting through godaddy and ive had them do an install of geeklog and ive even gotten brave and done my own install of geeklog which went pretty good but im not sure how to really accomplish what im wanting. The directions for doing an install in the root directory still put geeklog in a folder like www.sitename.com/public_html/ how are sites dropping geeklog down even further where its always www.sitename.com and not in sub folders?

 
 Quote
1000ideen
 10/11/07 01:13PM  
+++++
Full Member

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/03
Posts: 1279
Geeklog has various sub folders. What are the problems with that?

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
Anonymous: newtogeeklog
 10/11/07 02:36PM  




Its not that i have a problem with geeklogs subfolders i was just wondering how people are making it look like they arent entering into subfolders.

 
 Quote
1000ideen
 10/11/07 02:41PM  
+++++
Full Member

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/03
Posts: 1279
I don`t know if I get you correctly but this "/public_html/" means web root. Maybe in your case it is identical with "www.sitename.com" ?

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
Anonymous: newtogeeklog
 10/11/07 05:09PM  



Im meaning ive seen sites that have geeklog installed and when you go to the site and are using it the url stays as www.sitename.com not www.sitename.com/public_html.

 
 Quote
1000ideen
 10/12/07 04:06AM  
+++++
Full Member

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/03
Posts: 1279
Yes, that`t what I mean too :wink: Install it in the web root.

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
jmucchiello
 10/12/07 10:45AM  
+++++
Full Member

Status: offline


Registered: 08/29/05
Posts: 985
Quote by: newtogeeklog

Ive got hosting through godaddy and ive had them do an install of geeklog and ive even gotten brave and done my own install of geeklog which went pretty good but im not sure how to really accomplish what im wanting. The directions for doing an install in the root directory still put geeklog in a folder like www.sitename.com/public_html/ how are sites dropping geeklog down even further where its always www.sitename.com and not in sub folders?

Your problem is godaddy. Most webhosts give you a home directory on the webserver (your account's root directory) and under that directory is a subdirectory which point to your domain. So, you'd have

some_server_path/youraccountname/
some_server_path/youraccountname/webroot

So installing on such a system you move the files and folders inside public_html to webroot and put the rest of geeklog elsewhere

some_server_path/yourloginname/geeklog/

I don't think godaddy works this way. I may be wrong but I believe the webroot and the account root are the same directory. So you would need to put all the files and folders in public_html directory into your account root along side the rest of Geeklog. Then you'd need to make sure the files in geeklog are not visible from the browser. It's an ugly solution for doing upgrades or if you want to install other software alongside Geeklog.

 
Profile Email
 Quote
Dirk
 10/12/07 05:50PM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 01/12/02
Posts: 13064
For Joe's answer, also see Installing Geeklog entirely within the web root

bye, Dirk

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
Johnny999
 11/02/07 01:10AM  
+----
Newbie

Status: offline


Registered: 11/02/07
Posts: 4
I have been here for 3 hours trying to change the config file to work with my site so the public_ html directory doesn't show. Nothing I do works. I still get errrors when trying to load the page. Still can't get it to work. I am so frustrated by now I am near to throwing this damn computer out the window...literally!

ANY IDEAS WHAT I CAN DO NOW?

 
Profile Email
 Quote
1000ideen
 11/02/07 05:03AM  
+++++
Full Member

Status: offline


Registered: 08/04/03
Posts: 1279
Quote by: Johnny999


ANY IDEAS WHAT I CAN DO NOW?



Yes, open a new thread and tell us precisely what you did and what the errors are. :kickcan:

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
nikebound
 11/07/07 05:00PM  
++---
Junior

Status: offline


Registered: 11/04/07
Posts: 15
Quote by: newtogeeklog

Ive got hosting through godaddy and ive had them do an install of geeklog and ive even gotten brave and done my own install of geeklog which went pretty good but im not sure how to really accomplish what im wanting. The directions for doing an install in the root directory still put geeklog in a folder like www.sitename.com/public_html/ how are sites dropping geeklog down even further where its always www.sitename.com and not in sub folders?


GoDaddy is building the sites as /usr/..../sitename/html for your root directory.
If you want to keep the security as it's set up, create a subdomain called gl.example.com & point it to @/public_html. Then in your root directory create a .htaccess file that includes the line:

Redirect /index.* http://gl.example.com/public_html/index.php

That will cause anyone typing in www.example.com to be bounced to your geeklog index site.
When I get my proofs back, I will be dropping the redirect & using the index in the root directory as the splash screen with site entry redirecting people to the gl.nikebound.com site.

The easy thing would be if GoDaddy would just let you edit the www subdomain instead. But it's reserved & you can't touch it.

You can try pulling everything out of public_html & into your root directory. If you do, you will need to edit the config.php file & pull '/public_html' out of every pathname that you find it in. Some people have reported problems with that, and I haven't done it so I can't tell you how well it actually works.

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
Anonymous: Jayjohnson
 04/08/11 02:57PM  



Where can i find the root directory on my go daddy's account? I need to find the folder containing joomla, I installed joomla on my go daddy account not through manual installation, it was one of go daddy's CMS application service provided on their site, so that's why I don't have any idea where to find the file directory of joomla on my go daddy's account. I need to edit some php files there. Thanks a lot! :banghead:

 
 Quote
Content generated in: 0.93 seconds
New Topic Post Reply

Normal Topic Normal Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Able to post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content