Welcome to Geeklog Saturday, July 22 2017 @ 10:46 am EDT


newtogeeklog

Anonymous
Ive got hosting through godaddy and ive had them do an install of geeklog and ive even gotten brave and done my own install of geeklog which went pretty good but im not sure how to really accomplish what im wanting. The directions for doing an install in the root directory still put geeklog in a folder like www.sitename.com/public_html/ how are sites dropping geeklog down even further where its always www.sitename.com and not in sub folders?

Status: offline

1000ideen

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 04/08/2003
Posts: 1289
Geeklog has various sub folders. What are the problems with that?

newtogeeklog

Anonymous

Its not that i have a problem with geeklogs subfolders i was just wondering how people are making it look like they arent entering into subfolders.

Status: offline

1000ideen

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 04/08/2003
Posts: 1289
I don`t know if I get you correctly but this "/public_html/" means web root. Maybe in your case it is identical with "www.sitename.com" ?

newtogeeklog

Anonymous
Im meaning ive seen sites that have geeklog installed and when you go to the site and are using it the url stays as www.sitename.com not www.sitename.com/public_html.

Status: offline

1000ideen

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 04/08/2003
Posts: 1289
Yes, that`t what I mean too :wink: Install it in the web root.

Status: offline

jmucchiello

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/08/2005
Posts: 985
Quote by: newtogeeklog

Ive got hosting through godaddy and ive had them do an install of geeklog and ive even gotten brave and done my own install of geeklog which went pretty good but im not sure how to really accomplish what im wanting. The directions for doing an install in the root directory still put geeklog in a folder like www.sitename.com/public_html/ how are sites dropping geeklog down even further where its always www.sitename.com and not in sub folders?

Your problem is godaddy. Most webhosts give you a home directory on the webserver (your account's root directory) and under that directory is a subdirectory which point to your domain. So, you'd have

some_server_path/youraccountname/
some_server_path/youraccountname/webroot

So installing on such a system you move the files and folders inside public_html to webroot and put the rest of geeklog elsewhere

some_server_path/yourloginname/geeklog/

I don't think godaddy works this way. I may be wrong but I believe the webroot and the account root are the same directory. So you would need to put all the files and folders in public_html directory into your account root along side the rest of Geeklog. Then you'd need to make sure the files in geeklog are not visible from the browser. It's an ugly solution for doing upgrades or if you want to install other software alongside Geeklog.

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
For Joe's answer, also see Installing Geeklog entirely within the web root

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

Johnny999

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 02/11/2007
Posts: 4
I have been here for 3 hours trying to change the config file to work with my site so the public_ html directory doesn't show. Nothing I do works. I still get errrors when trying to load the page. Still can't get it to work. I am so frustrated by now I am near to throwing this damn computer out the window...literally!

ANY IDEAS WHAT I CAN DO NOW?

Status: offline

1000ideen

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 04/08/2003
Posts: 1289
Quote by: Johnny999


ANY IDEAS WHAT I CAN DO NOW?



Yes, open a new thread and tell us precisely what you did and what the errors are. :kickcan:

Status: offline

nikebound

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 04/11/2007
Posts: 15
Quote by: newtogeeklog

Ive got hosting through godaddy and ive had them do an install of geeklog and ive even gotten brave and done my own install of geeklog which went pretty good but im not sure how to really accomplish what im wanting. The directions for doing an install in the root directory still put geeklog in a folder like www.sitename.com/public_html/ how are sites dropping geeklog down even further where its always www.sitename.com and not in sub folders?


GoDaddy is building the sites as /usr/..../sitename/html for your root directory.
If you want to keep the security as it's set up, create a subdomain called gl.example.com & point it to @/public_html. Then in your root directory create a .htaccess file that includes the line:

Redirect /index.* http://gl.example.com/public_html/index.php

That will cause anyone typing in www.example.com to be bounced to your geeklog index site.
When I get my proofs back, I will be dropping the redirect & using the index in the root directory as the splash screen with site entry redirecting people to the gl.nikebound.com site.

The easy thing would be if GoDaddy would just let you edit the www subdomain instead. But it's reserved & you can't touch it.

You can try pulling everything out of public_html & into your root directory. If you do, you will need to edit the config.php file & pull '/public_html' out of every pathname that you find it in. Some people have reported problems with that, and I haven't done it so I can't tell you how well it actually works.

Jayjohnson

Anonymous
Where can i find the root directory on my go daddy's account? I need to find the folder containing joomla, I installed joomla on my go daddy account not through manual installation, it was one of go daddy's CMS application service provided on their site, so that's why I don't have any idea where to find the file directory of joomla on my go daddy's account. I need to edit some php files there. Thanks a lot! :banghead:

All times are EDT. The time is now 10:46 am.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content