Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Saturday, July 27 2024 @ 06:08 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

Creating 'sortable' Static Page?

Anonymous

Anonymous
I am new to the world of PHP and MYSQL so bare with me if (A) This is impossible or (Cool Blatantly easy. My goal is to create a master index of links with in my site sortable by a field. I have no problems creating an extra table to hold these values but how would I populate a static page with the results and allow sorting? If this doesn't make sense, what I am trying to do is similar to that where are review sites you can sort by title or date or price or $$$. I want to give my users this ability so they can quickly find what they are looking for. Thanks!

Anonymous

Anonymous
Do you mean like this?

Anonymous

Anonymous
Yes-Yes-Yes! That's it?? Can you help out a guy?

Anonymous

Anonymous
Actually, yes, I have seen that page by Tom at the pig stye. My question is can you limit what topics it indexes? I would only 4 or 5 of my topics indexed.

Anonymous

Anonymous
He took Tom W's site index script and added a little code to make the columns sortable. He described what he changed here If the changes are above your head, you can probably just write to him (at jerry@hoboes.com)and ask for a copy of the code.

Anonymous

Anonymous
Yes, just add a condition to the SQL queries in the script to only select whatever topics you want.

Anonymous

Anonymous
Hmm, but I notice in Tom's original page, at least the version I have that the column headers are not clicable, thus they aren't sortable?

Anonymous

Anonymous
Right. Another guy was the one who added some code to make the columns clickable and sortable. Tom didn't added this feature to his. Many of these developers don't unless the code is written by them or their close buddies.

Anonymous

Anonymous