Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, March 28 2024 @ 03:38 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Change of server went badly

worldfooty

Forum User
Hi,

I've been running GL for many years and my hosts recently said they need to move me to a new server and got me to redirect the nameservers. I did that but then the hosts reported back that the move didn't work due to restore problems due to my site being large (about 600 MB, which is probably very small for some, but I don't think they're a big company). In the end they ftp'd everything over folder by folder. But nothing works (Firefox just says Unfortunately, an error has occurred rendering this page. Please try again later.) and they've run out of ideas.

I had my own full cPanel directory backup, so I unzipped the homedir.tar part, ftp'd it to the new server, and used cPanel / Filemanager to untar it. Didn't help.

I'm wondering if that should have worked or are there install commands that would've needed to be run?

We've been down for 2 days and I'm very time poor these days, my years of late nights feverishly working on the site are behind me, so I don't undertake anything major with the site these days, so if I have to re-install a fresh Geeklog and then copy in all the images and databases and our personal hacks and activate all the plugins etc then I guess we're going to be down for a couple of weeks.

If I do start afresh I guess I go for 1.8.1 and hopefully I can import the old database in? But first I'd like to understand what went wrong.

Cheers,
Brett

worldfooty

Forum User
OK, got root debugging on (I'm VERY rusty at this). So the error is:

2 - mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user 'world_footyblog'@'localhost' (using password: YES) @ /home/world/geeklog/system/databases/mysql.class.php line 118

array(0) {
}

Any ideas?

worldfooty

Forum User