Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Wednesday, May 29 2024 @ 09:31 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Newbie question - if anyone has the patience!

pookie13

Forum User
Hello - I am a complete newbie and have a very simple question (I think). How do you post images on stories?! I was told that you only need to upload the image and this doesn't seem to work for me.

I browsed for the image (which was only located on my desktop) and then tried to save the story. It wouldn't save because the image has to be in the intro or body of the story.

I then read the part about: "To add one of the images you are attaching to this article you need to insert specially formatted text. The specially formatted text is [imageX], [imageX_right] or [imageX_left] where X is the number of the image you have attached. NOTE: You must use the images you attach. If you do not you will be unable to save your story."

So I tried this. The story read like this:

Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah .
[image20050911155303415_1.jpg_right]

and I received the error:
Attached Images Not Used
The following errors occured while trying to save your story. Please correct these errors before saving
image #1, 20050911155303415_1.jpg, was not used. You must include this image in the intro or body before you can save your changes

I feel pretty dumb, but WHAT am I doing wrong????

Thanks for your help! Can someone help me

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Simply use [image1] for the first image, [image2] for the second, etc.

Quite a lot of new users seem to make this mistake. Maybe it's time to re-phrase the instructions somewhat ...

bye, Dirk

pookie13

Forum User