Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Tuesday, April 23 2024 @ 07:28 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

link problem


Status: offline

garfy

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 01/02/05
Posts: 437
Location:EU
Hi WHat does this mean

Hi
>> Why when i put my mouse on the title of my link i see -
>> http://alternativemedicine.com/portal.php/link/20050702010206994 ?
>> I wanted see there - www.search-forex.com
>> Alex

Is there a probèlem , can it be fixed so it would show his link?
 Quote

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 01/12/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Geeklog redirects the links through the portal.php script because otherwise there would be no way to count how many times a link has been clicked on.

Of course, if you're after increasing your page rank in Google, this won't help you much there (although Googlebot does follow these links). You could change the templates for the links section (in the "links" directory in your theme's directory) if you want, but you'd lose the link counts then ...

bye, Dirk
 Quote

Status: Banned

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 03/22/04
Posts: 1512
the 1.3.11 version of the professional theme has the following for /links/linkdetails.thtml:
Text Formatted Code
<li>
  <strong><a href="{link_url}" title="{link_actual_url}">{link_name}</a></strong> ({link_hits}) {link_edit}<br>
  {link_description}
</li>

 
notice the title attribute in the anchor tag... that will give you the actual url when your mouse hovers over the link (like an alt attribute for an image). It does not change the link to potal.php however, because, as Dirk has said, this is necessary for hit counting..
 Quote

Status: offline

garfy

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 01/02/05
Posts: 437
Location:EU
but i need the html links so please what do i have to do to change that

thank you
 Quote

Status: offline

drshakagee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 10/01/03
Posts: 231
Quote by garfy: but i need the html links so please what do i have to do to change that

thank you


It might be crazy talk to start experimenting but you might want to try changing it to this:

Text Formatted Code

<li>
  <strong><a href="{link_actual_url}" title="{link_actual_url}">{link_name}</a></strong> ({link_hits}) {link_edit}<br>
  {link_description}
</li>

 

Yes I am mental.
 Quote

Status: offline

kemal

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 04/05/05
Posts: 103
Location:Turkey
good, is it possible add photo for links?
_KEMAL_
 Quote

tokyoahead

Anonymous
yes & no.

There is no feature to attach something.
the site admin however can use HTML in the picture description in order to display an image. allowing guests to do that is a security problem and therefore disabled.
 Quote

All times are EDT. The time is now 07:28 am.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content