Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, March 28 2024 @ 04:17 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Admin Password: Unable to change

Brett

Anonymous
Hi, I have just installed V1.3.11 and besides being a newbie I managed to get through the installation and still be in one piece.

However, after reading the first story and then logging in as Admin I am unable to access any form of 'Admins Only', or 'User Functions'. The left block does not change to show the new items as expected when I log in as Admin.

I have searched the forums and have been unable to come up with a fix. I am not that conversant with php etc (learning) so any 'patient' help would really be appreciated.

Thanks

knuff

Forum User
Are you sure you can actually log in ?

It seems more to me that you cannot login.

Have a look at these two FAQs.

I can't change anything!

I can't log in.
Vanrillaer.com - our Family Portal

Brett

Anonymous
Thanks for your response Knuff.

I agree. I cannot log in and I am trying to work through a checklist of things that I have found to try and sort this out. So far...

1. Cookies. I have enabled them (and deleted them), so I don't think they are the problem. I can access the demo site ok as an administrator (which may be a very naive conclusion?).

2. Firewall is filtering the cookie. This may be my problem.....I do not see any cookies appearing ......I modified $_CONF['cookiedomain'] = www.abc.com but still did not see any cookies....I then modified it to = .xxx.abc.com and again no cookie. I have been to other geeklog sites and I am definately getting cookies so it MUST HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH config.php. Thats where my newbie status really hurts. I have no idea what to change or where to start.....help?

3. Use of frame forwarding. This is not an issue.

4. Whitespace in config.php and lib-common.php. I have checked and re-checked.....no whitespace ( I had this issue during install so I know what I need to look for)

5. Earlier version of geeklog. Not an issue.