Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Monday, December 05 2022 @ 06:26 am EST

Geeklog Forums

logo Links plugin


Status: Banned

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 03/22/04
Posts: 1512
just a simple set of web forms used to create a page of logo links, hence the name. This was developed for a person who has no HTML knowledge (otherwise a staticpage would have sufficed). This plugin also sports a nifty block that displays some number of logos according to your admin default. It is a "thin" plugin, but can be made into much more quite simply--feel free. I may still add some more to it. Was developed on 1.3.11.

I uploaded it to geeklog.net yesterday--I'm sure it'll show up soon.
In the meantime, find it at summitpages.ca.

you can see the random logo block in action at CPS
 Quote

Status: Banned

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 03/22/04
Posts: 1512
The latest version of Logo Links adds the option to restrict a logo from the random block.
 Quote

DE Buurman

Anonymous
confused
need a big help! installed the latest version, my geeklog version is 1.3.11

after installing i'm getting this message

Warning: main(/home/agovvape/public_html/plugins/Logo Links/functions.inc): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/agovvape/public_html/lib-common.php on line 6106

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required '/home/agovvape/public_html/plugins/Logo Links/functions.inc' (include_path='/home/agovvape/public_html/system/pear/:.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/agovvape/public_html/lib-common.php on line 6106

looked everywhere, no solution! help please Shocked
 Quote

Status: Banned

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 03/22/04
Posts: 1512
looks like you've installed files to the wrong directory. this installs just like any other plugin.
 Quote

De Buurman

Anonymous
you're right. next error after trying the solve the problem

Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING in /home/agovvape/public_html/lib-common.php on line 4691

beats me! anyone?
 Quote

de buurman

Anonymous
OK, big problem. installing de plugin with geeklog goes verry well. after installing i see in the installmenu the button logo links and the option install. I also see the line logo links not installed. From this moment everythings is going horrible wrong! i push the install button en kabam there it is again, the errors

Warning: main(/home/agovvape/public_html/plugins/Logo Links/
Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required '/home/agovvape/public_html/plugins/Logo Links/functions.inc' (include_path='/home/agovvape/public_html/system/pear/:.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/agovvape/public_html/lib-common.php on line 6106

like you can see the black highlighted words are saying Logo Links, the install doc that came with the plugin says logos !!!! please help with this, i really need to get some logo's on my site real soon!

Gr Marcel

 Quote

Status: Banned

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 03/22/04
Posts: 1512
simply put: you have placed your files in the wrong place.
the install doc is very specific. the only thing wrong with the package you downloaded is the extracted directory name which can just be renamed to logos from logolinks.
If you like, I'll do it for you.

 Quote

DE Buurman

Anonymous
alright! many thanks, i already send you a e-mail!
 Quote

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 08/05/03
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
Hi, I installed it on many sites running 1.3.11, but on 1.40 I'm getting this error:

do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Attempting to install the logos Plugin
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - executing CREATE TABLE gl_logos_defaults (
blk_disp_lim TINYINT(3) UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '3',
displim TINYINT(3) UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '18',
max_img_width INT UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '160',
max_img_height INT UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '120',
max_file_size INT UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '204800',
sortby TINYINT(1) NOT NULL default '1'
) TYPE=MyISAM
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - executing CREATE TABLE gl_logos_logos (
lid VARCHAR(20) NOT NULL,
image VARCHAR(255) NULL,
url VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL,
ldesc VARCHAR(255) NULL,
sortnum TINYINT(3) UNSIGNED NOT NULL,
status TINYINT(1) NOT NULL default '1',
UNIQUE lid (lid(20))
) TYPE=MyISAM
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Success - Created table
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Inserting default data into defaults table
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Success - inserting data into defaults table
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Inserting default data into randomLogoBlock table
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - 1136: Column count doesn't match value count at row 1. SQL in question:
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Error inserting default data into randomLogoBlock table
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Attempting to unregister the logos plugin from Geeklog
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Removing Table gl_logos_defaults
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Removing Table gl_logos_logos
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Removing logos blocks
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Removing logos Admin Group
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Removing root users from admin of logos
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - Removing logos.edit feature and rights to it
do 2 mrt 21:45:55 2006 - ...success


What did I do wrong?
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking:
www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net
 Quote

Status: Banned

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 03/22/04
Posts: 1512
the gl 1.4 blocks table includes new fields not taken into account in the logolinks install routine. You'll have to rewrite the default data insert statement(s) to accommodate the new fields. The best way to do this would be to use the syntax, INSERT INTO tablename SET columnname=data, etc. and just specify those fields that actually take data.

I don't have even a moment to look at the code for you or I would. hmm, I think I've done this for another plugin.. check the end of this thread. It's for the dailyquote plugin, but the idea is the same.
 Quote

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 08/05/03
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
Well, that's nice, all the core developer are telling us not to change the core files because that will make it hard to upgrade, and what happens? One single upgrade and a huge pile of plugins (I know, some are not recent) can not be installed again. And we do have to upgrade because the 1.3.11 versions are not secure. I'll hire someone to rewrite the stuf, but what I am not pleased at all.

For one of my projects, which still doesn't bring me any money yet, I've hired a programmer to develop some special plugins. Now I guess I can hire him again or throw $1000 of special plugins in the garbage can. Thanx a lot.. Evil or Very Mad Mad
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking:
www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net
 Quote

Status: Banned

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 03/22/04
Posts: 1512
upgrading a geeklog installation doesn't kill your plugins, at least it shouldn't. If you are installing plugins fresh on a gl 1.4 installation, plugins that have not been developed with 1.4 in mind, you should expect these issues. It is no different for any other new version of Geeklog where plugins are concerned.
 Quote

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 08/05/03
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
So I should install older GL versions for fresh installs? Thats insane!
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking:
www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net
 Quote

mach

Anonymous
it's also not what i said
 Quote

Status: offline

Blaine

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 07/16/02
Posts: 1232
Location:Canada
Quote by beewee: For one of my projects, which still doesn't bring me any money yet, I've hired a programmer to develop some special plugins. Now I guess I can hire him again or throw $1000 of special plugins in the garbage can. Thanx a lot.. Evil or Very Mad Mad

All existing plugins should work with GL 1.4 - with one exception and that is the COMMENT API as far as I've seen. Older themes need to be updated but thats a known upgrade task. GL 1.4 also now supports Register_Globals off but thats a new feature and if enabled will cause problems for older plugins.
Geeklog components by PortalParts -- www.portalparts.com
 Quote

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 08/05/03
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
OK, sorry for my big mouth, I rewrote the data insertion lines to this:
$DEFVALUES = array();
$DEFVALUES['defaults'] = "INSERT INTO {$LG_TABLES['defaults']} SET blk_disp_lim='3', displim='3', max_img_width='120', max_img_height='160', max_file_size='204800', sortby='1'";
$DEFVALUES['randomLogoBlock'] = "INSERT INTO {$_TABLES['blocks']} SET is_enabled='0', name='logos', type='phpblock', title='Random Logos', tid='all', blockorder='255', phpblockfn='phpblock_randomLogos'";

I know I'm getting close, but got this error:
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Attempting to install the Logo Links Plugin
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - executing CREATE TABLE gl_logos_defaults (
blk_disp_lim TINYINT(3) UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '3',
displim TINYINT(3) UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '18',
max_img_width INT UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '160',
max_img_height INT UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '120',
max_file_size INT UNSIGNED NOT NULL default '204800',
sortby TINYINT(1) NOT NULL default '1'
) TYPE=MyISAM
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - executing CREATE TABLE gl_logos_logos (
lid VARCHAR(20) NOT NULL,
image VARCHAR(255) NULL,
url VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL,
ldesc VARCHAR(255) NULL,
sortnum TINYINT(3) UNSIGNED NOT NULL,
status TINYINT(1) NOT NULL default '1',
UNIQUE lid (lid(20))
) TYPE=MyISAM
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Success - Created table
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Inserting default data into defaults table
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Success - inserting data into defaults table
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Inserting default data into randomLogoBlock table
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Success - inserting data into randomLogoBlock table
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Attempting to create Logo Links admin group
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - 1062: Duplicate entry 'Logo Links Admin' for key 2. SQL in question:
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Attempting to unregister the logos plugin from Geeklog
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Removing Table gl_logos_defaults
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Removing Table gl_logos_logos
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Removing logos blocks
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Removing logos Admin Group
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Removing root users from admin of logos
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Removing logos.edit feature and rights to it
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - ...success


Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking:
www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net
 Quote

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 08/05/03
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
Bump - Anyone - Question Question
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking:
www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net
 Quote

Status: Banned

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 03/22/04
Posts: 1512
Quote by beewee:

za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - Attempting to create Logo Links admin group
za 4 mrt 15:45:57 2006 - 1062: Duplicate entry 'Logo Links Admin' for key 2. SQL in question:


find the roque entry in your groups table and manually remove it. Somehow it was left over from one of your install attempts. You may also want to check the group_assignments and vars tables while you're at it.

another 4 weeks before I have any time for this stuff again. sorry I cant be more help.
 Quote

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 08/05/03
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
OK, found an Logo Links Admin group in the database, and deleted it. After some minor modifications I've succeeded in installing the plugin.

Thanks Machinari! Big Celebration

I'm not 100% sure the plugin is now 100% OK, so I won't upload it here. If somebody really wants it, he can send me an e-mail.
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking:
www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net
 Quote

Status: offline

casper

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 02/11/04
Posts: 142
Location:Skien, Norway
I've uploaded an update for Logo Links now that should work with GL 1.4.
 Quote

All times are EST. The time is now 06:26 am.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content