Welcome to Geeklog Thursday, November 23 2017 @ 10:59 pm EST


Status: offline

ewestern

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 10/02/2005
Posts: 7
When a user clicks "Get Published" on my site it takes them to a screen that has a block that says read first with this text in it:

When submitting information for use on this site we ask that you follow the following suggestions...

Fill in all the fields, they're required
Provide complete and accurate information
Double check those URLs


I already searched this issue and found out about the php.ini file needing registar_globals=on to be set. I contacted my host and they said that it is on on my server.

What then could be causing and how do I fix it?

Thanks.

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
What exactly is your problem? That message is normal - try clicking on the "contribute" link here on geeklog.net.

What did you expect to happen?

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

ewestern

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 10/02/2005
Posts: 7
Well I was hoping to have the rest of the page load up so they could submit an article. What I quote there is the only thing that loads up on the page, nothing else.

Sorry, guess I wasn't very specific on that in the first post.

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Hmm, that's unusual. Try uploading the "submit" directory of your theme as well as submit.php again. My guess would be that one of those files is defective.

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

ewestern

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 10/02/2005
Posts: 7
I was able to fix it. I tried your suggestions to no avail. Took a deeper look into it and this is what I found:

The link for "Get Published" has the target url of:
{site_url}/submit.php?type=story{current_topic}

submit.php looks for topic='' to display the actual submit form. By deleting {current_topic} from the header.thtml file of my theme (XSilver) I was able to get it to work.

Thanks for your help.

Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512
its strange why that would make any difference at all unless your lib-common was corrupt in some way around COM_renderMenu.

what was the address of the page that didn't display a form (look in the address bar while on that page)? specifically, what was after type=story.... was there any topic? Without knowing, I suspect that your topic name had some special character in it--but, I dunno.

All times are EST. The time is now 10:59 pm.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content