Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Wednesday, April 24 2024 @ 10:24 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Top Newfeeds- how???

Chris

Anonymous
I am a newbie to Geeklog (obviously) and I have spent hours searching for a way to display news from top news sites in the center block on the main index for my website. I assumed this would a highly popular feature, imagine my surprise after hours of searching that not much is said or done about it.

I have tried the "squatty" news plugin but got nothing (most likely my error) and couldn't find one site actually using it to even view an example of it at work. Then I went with the "MyHeadlines" app which is exactly what I want- yet figuring out how to display it on the index page has become impossible. A user, "Scurvydawg" had suggested emabling PHP in a static page then adding this script:

global $myhPath,$_USER;
$myhPath = "MyHeadlines/MyHeadlines";
require_once("$myhPath/MyHeadlines.php");

//Get User Permissions / Values
if(empty($_USER['uid'])){
$isAnon = 1;
$isUser = 0;
$uname = "";
$uid=0;
}else{
$isAnon = 0;
$isUser = 1;
$uname = $_USER['username'];
$uid=$_USER['uid'];
}

//Get Admin Permissions
$isAdmin=SEC_inGroup('Root');

//Init MyHeadlines
$headlines = new MyHeadlines; //create a MyHeadlines Object
$headlines->MYH_INIT("index.php?y=0", "gl", $isAdmin,$uid,$uname,0); //init
the object... (see API.txt)

// Display ...
$myh_output = $headlines->getDashBoardComponent_UserSubscriptions();

//modify some paths so things look right...
$myh_output =
ereg_replace("MyHeadlines.images","MyHeadlines/MyHeadlines/images",$myh_outp
ut);
$myh_output =
ereg_replace("MyHeadlines.index.php.y=0","index.php?y=0",$myh_output);
//just incase some are good... Break them so they can be fixed by the next
line
$myh_output =
ereg_replace("index.php.y=0","MyHeadlines/index.php?y=0",$myh_output);

return $myh_output;

---
after that I get an error: