Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Friday, July 26 2024 @ 09:09 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Forum themes

DenoChino

Forum User
Junior
curious
Hi,

It's me again. I know that in an earlier post, I was asking if I could change the color of my forum I made, and I'm told that that I would have to get forum templates. Where do I get them? and how do I install them?

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
The forum templates come - surprise, surprise - with the forum plugin.

It sounds like you haven't even attempted to install the forum yet. I'd suggest you do that (read the installation instructions!) - it will become a lot clearer then ...

bye, Dirk

DenoChino

Forum User
Junior
I have the forum installed already. I've looked everywhere for a forums setting, and I don't see any. I just want to change the color of the forum to red. Where & how do I go do this?

BTW, I'm new with geeklog.

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
During the installation of the plugin, you have been asked to copy a directory into your theme's layout directory. So you now have a directory /path/to/geeklog/layout/YourTheme/forum - the template files are in there.

But beware, there are a lot of files in there. If you're lucky, you can get away with a few color changes in the style sheet (remember that you had to copy the contents of the additional-forum.css file into your style.css?).

I recently made a forum theme for my ClearBlue theme and I can tell you that it can be quite a bit of work. But I think the result was worth it ...

bye, Dirk

DenoChino

Forum User
Junior
tired
Ok, I went in and got the CSS file, which is forumstyle.css, I believe?

I tried updating it, by changing the color code, but it still doesn't work!

Am I even updating the right file here? I just wanna change the color of the forum to red from default gray.

- Help!

Dazzy

Forum User
Don't forgoet you have to copy the code in forumstyle.css into your themes css file!
Dazzy

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin