Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Wednesday, April 24 2024 @ 05:59 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

ecommerce subscription script

1gor

Anonymous

I am not a programmer (more like amature system admin) but I am trying to write a minimalist script which could be quite interesting for the community. It will allow paid subscription for Geeklog membership levels (groups) and/or access to different downladable products. (I refer to this thread). Below is what I can do myself, in terms of making it happen. But I need help from somebody who knows GL data structure and basically can write one SQL command. Here we go ...

Features

A registered user at GL site is presented with an option to become a paid subscriber and to receive access to certain content (articles, or articles with download links). When he clicks on "purchase" button he is taken to the site of credit card processing company (like paysystems. com etc.). After he has completed his transaction he will be assigned to a GL group that has access to member content or to pages with downloadable files.

Pre-conditions:

• script "subscribe.php" is located in a separate directory under GL public_html directory
  • access to this script is controlled by .htaccess file (apache mod_rewrite); a rewrite rule specifies which referer may access this page (will be "*.cardprocessor.com" or something). So, no other security features are needed. If page is accessed by somebody else it gets redirected to a "homepage" and optionally the incident will be logged. This makes it unnecesary to integrate "subscribe.php" script with GL security system.
  • a geeklog user group should be created beforehand by admin through standard Geeklog interface, the group should be named "product1" (there may be several groups like that").
  • script has following config variables defined:
    • group1 ="product1";
    • group2 ="product2" etc.
  • includes lib-config.php for db access
  • Execution