Welcome to Geeklog Thursday, April 02 2020 @ 09:39 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

Bugs in Geeklog 1.4.0 beta 1

Page navigation


Status: offline

Euan

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/04/02
Posts: 292
Dirk,

Found it (the problem with calendar titles). In calendar.php, there is a function makeDaysHeadline that returns the table header tags for the small table. It takes the normal language string (Monday, Tuesday etc.) and does a
PHP Formatted Code
substr ($LANG30[2], 0, 2)
 
- which is fine for double-byte charsets like EUC but no good for triple-byte charsets like UTF8. This needs to be changed to use separate short strings from the language files: eg Mo, Tu, We for English, whatever needed for other languages. Or, do a check for the charset and set the substr length accordingly (sounds like more hassle to me).

Cheers,

Euan.

langauge files $LANG30:

PHP Formatted Code

    42 => 'Mo',
    43 => 'Tu',
    44 => 'We',
    45 => 'Th',
    46 => 'Fr',
    47 => 'Sa',
    48 => 'Su'

 


calendar.php

PHP Formatted Code

/**
* Returns a string with table header tags filled with the language
* strings for the days of the week
*/


function makeDaysHeadline ()
{
    global $_CONF, $LANG30;

    $retval = '<tr><th>';
    if ($_CONF['week_start'] == 'Mon') {
        $retval .= $LANG30[42] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[43] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[44] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[45] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[46] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[47] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[48] . '</th></tr>';
    } else {
        $retval .= $LANG30[48] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[42] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[43] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[44] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[45] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[46] . '</th><th>'
                . $LANG30[47] . '</th></tr>';
    }

    return $retval;
}

 

-- Heather Engineering -- No job too small

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Thanks, Euan. Looks like that bug has been there since "forever", though - not something that has been introduced in 1.4.

Instead of adding the names to the language file, I'm wondering if we couldn't let PHP do the work. Something like
PHP Formatted Code
<?php

setlocale( LC_ALL, 'ja_JP' );

echo strftime( '%b' );

?>
 
should, in theory, produce the abbreviated month name in Japanese. All it does for me, though, is to return "12". It does return the proper German abbreviation for 'de_DE', though.

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

Euan

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/04/02
Posts: 292
Dirk,

I came up with this, but it requires a new variable in every language file - but one which might prove useful anyway:

$LANG_LOCALE = 'en_GB';
$LANG_LOCALE = 'ja_JP';
etc.

PHP Formatted Code

/**
* Returns a string with table header tags filled with the language
* strings for the days of the week
*
*/


function makeDaysHeadline ()
{
    global $_CONF, $LANG30, $LANG_LOCALE;

    setlocale(LC_ALL, $LANG_LOCALE);
    $start = strtotime($_CONF['week_start']);

    $retval = '<tr>';
    for($i=0; $i<=6; $i++) {
        $retval .= "<th>".strftime('%a',$start+(86400*$i))."</th>";
    }
    $retval .= '</tr>';

    return $retval;
}

 


Only tested on PHP 5.0.4 on OSX 10.4.2.

Cheers, Euan.
-- Heather Engineering -- No job too small

Status: offline

TechSys

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 02/12/03
Posts: 90
I'm not sure what happened, what I did before this started showing in my error.log, or if this is even a bug. Everything seems to be working properly, except everytime my site is visited I get 2k of this in my error.log.

PHP Formatted Code
12/17/2005 12:26:08 PM - SELECT * FROM mnu_index WHERE ((perm_anon >= 3) OR (perm_members >= 2) OR ((group_id = 2) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 4) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 7) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 11) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 5) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 13) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 12) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 19) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 10) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 8) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 1) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 14) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 3) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 6) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 9) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 20) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 21) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 18) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 17) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((group_id = 15) AND (perm_group >= 2)) OR ((owner_id = 2) AND (perm_owner >= 2))) AND (lang = 'english') ORDER BY m_pos ASC
12/17/2005 12:26:08 PM - nrows = 14 <> language = english


 

http://70.145.174.180/

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by TechSys: I'm not sure what happened, what I did before this started showing in my error.log, or if this is even a bug.

This has nothing at all to do with the beta. It's debug output of the menu plugin.

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

TechSys

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 02/12/03
Posts: 90
Thanks Dirk. I had a feeling it was the menu plugin but wasn't quite sure.

Thanks again
http://70.145.174.180/

Status: offline

PNMarkW2

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 02/12/04
Posts: 26
Okay, I must be an idiot (don't everyone agree at once). I've got GL 1.4.0 Beta 1 installed, and I'm getting error mentioned here that are reported fixed in the CVS, cool. Except I can't seem to get to the CVS to download it. I've tried two different windows CVS clients, and both fail to connect.

Can someone give me some pointers because I'd really like to add a block to my site. Smile

~Mark
~Mark

Status: offline

1000ideen

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 04/08/03
Posts: 1295
If you have a browser you only need to download this:
http://www.geeklog.net/nightly/geeklog-cvs-nightly.tar.gz

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by PNMarkW2: Except I can't seem to get to the CVS to download it. I've tried two different windows CVS clients, and both fail to connect.

I just checked (though not with a Windows client): Anonymous CVS is working just fine. If you can't get it to work, please start a new thread and provide some more information so that the Windows folks can help you there.

Or you could simply download the nightly tarball ...

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

Blaine

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 16/07/02
Posts: 1232
Location:Canada
Quote by drkrum: When using the FCKEditor for story submit, it seems that the 'introhtml' field is being entirely ignored in favour of the 'introtext' field. This has the effect of ignoring any text that the user has entered in HTML mode. I don't want to have to use the plaintext editor Sad

What browser are you using?
Geeklog components by PortalParts -- www.portalparts.com

Status: offline

Euan

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/04/02
Posts: 292
Poll comments:

If you try to refresh from threaded view to nested view, the page returned is the list of polls on the site. At a quick guess, the qid is not being set (from polls/index.php - "no qid returns a list of polls").

Cheers, Euan.
-- Heather Engineering -- No job too small

Status: offline

drkrum

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 01/03/03
Posts: 5
Quote by Blaine:
Quote by drkrum: When using the FCKEditor for story submit, it seems that the 'introhtml' field is being entirely ignored in favour of the 'introtext' field. This has the effect of ignoring any text that the user has entered in HTML mode. I don't want to have to use the plaintext editor Sad

What browser are you using?


Firefox 1.0.7/linux. It appears to work when I am logged in as admin, but not at all when I hit "contribute" as anonymous. I haven't tested with other user accounts.

Turner

Anonymous
Am I the only one who has noticed that the "Preview" button at the bottom of the advanced FCKeditor doesn't work? What gives?

-Jeff

mach

Anonymous
i think blaine addressed this issue already.
you have his response here.

Status: offline

Blaine

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 16/07/02
Posts: 1232
Location:Canada
Quote by Turner: Am I the only one who has noticed that the "Preview" button at the bottom of the advanced FCKeditor doesn't work? What gives?
-Jeff
What are you trying to preview - have you saved the story yet?

If you save it - just as before when you edit the story again, it would show the preview of the story first and then the edit form. I've now moved that preview into a separate area so you can show/hide that content and allow you the editor to focus on the edit form if editing. With the FCKEditor already showing formatted HTML, you get a pretty good idea of the formatted content.
Geeklog components by PortalParts -- www.portalparts.com

Turner

Anonymous
I'm very sorry. I didn't see this response. Embarassed

Status: offline

LWC

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 19/02/04
Posts: 818
The X in "Views: X" (for stories) uses ' instead of ,

It also means that in RTL sites it's shown, for example, as 404'1 instead of as 1'404.

Please bring back the comma.

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by LWC: Please bring back the comma.

PHP Formatted Code
// Number formatting
$_CONF['thousand_separator'] = "'";  // could be ' , . etc.
 

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

LWC

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 19/02/04
Posts: 818
I don't currently use 1.4beta. I just hope you'd fix it for the future.

Status: offline

timatlee

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 06/06/04
Posts: 14
Hello ..

Just tried playing with polls on a new GL site I'm setting up ..

When I click to log a comment (clicking the Reply button), I get redirected a few times .. to polls/index.php, then to /comments.php, then back to /index.php (I think)..

I'm using the nightly snapshot from CVS.

Anyone else see anything similar?

Page navigation

All times are EDT. The time is now 09:39 am.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content