Welcome to Geeklog Saturday, November 18 2017 @ 05:05 am EST


Status: offline

ajzz

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 19/01/2005
Posts: 113
A quick followup:

The failing of mozilla http-equiv="refresh" (used in lib-common.php) is listed as a bug in the FCKeditor bug-database.

I do not have adequate insight to determine if this is really a weakness in Mozilla or is just limited to FCK. Either ways, it seems browser specific. Now it makes sense that the logout or submit confirmations on my site sometimes fail sporadically after visiting other random websites using firefox - a browser restart temporarily solves the issue until another breaking page is encountered.

Are there any workarounds to using the http-equiv="refresh" in lib-common.php - any thoughts from the experts?

Regards,

Ajay

Edit: it seems only the same browser tab shows this problems... new or other tabs are reported to show normal behavior.

Status: offline

Blaine

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 16/07/2002
Posts: 1233
Location:Canada
curious
Yes, the refresh issue is a Firefox/Mozilla bug and it effects not only our site but any site that uses the METAtag refresh method. Firefox is effected by any of these HTML editors including HTMLArea. Once loaded - any site you go to afterwards will get that blank page when you are redirected via a METATag refresh/redirect.

To see the probem. Access the fckeditor demo - IE will not be effected by this problem.
http://www.fckeditor.net/demo/default.html

Now access this test url I setup that should redirect you to google.com
http://www.portalparts.com/refreshtest.php

I am adding FCKEditor into GL's next release as the default Advanced Editor option with a new Editor layout. It includes the mcpuk image/file browser with thumbnail preview for adding/inserting images and maintaining an image library. You can even upload files and add a link to it, add a thumbnail/icon image that when clicked shows a larger image or downloads a file. SiteAdmin's will just need to enable the advanced editor mode to have this work out-of-the-box (assuming they use updated templates/theme).

As part of that work, we came across a few issues. We can change the way we do the page redirect but that will only benefit you while on a geeklog site. Once the browser session was loaded. Now .. I tested with the new Deerpark release and it does not have this issue.

Also the final release of FCKeditor 2.0 is expected next month.

The CVS version can be downloaded for testing to see/test the changes.
The team has been very busy
Geeklog components by PortalParts -- www.portalparts.com

Status: offline

ajzz

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 19/01/2005
Posts: 113
Blaine, thanks for that overwhelmingly informative response. I look forward to all the updates and upgrades you talk about. Kudos to the team!

Ajay

Status: offline

sorenson2743

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 16/06/2005
Posts: 13
Location:Aylmer, ON Canada
Hi Blaine: As you asked for volunteers, I downloaded and installed the 1.3.12cvs version today, did the Pear d/l, etc., enabled the advanced editor in config.php and all that. Only used the supplied Professional theme, and no other modifications to the install apart from adjusting standard config.php switches for my installation and preferences. I did disable RSS, Trackback, Pingback and all those switches. If I recall, I did get an error on one of the screens shortly after the install was complete about "...back" (dunno which one) before I set the functionality switches to disabled. I don't intend to use them.

Some early comments about FCKeditor, using admin as editor user :

- still has the "blank page after submission" problem; I'm using 1.77 Mozilla under Suse 9.2 for both the editor and browsing (localhost); my version of Konquerer has never run properly in a javascript editor for some reason, but is useful for verifying the published page (see below); I know about this problem from earlier posts.
- inserting links works fine in editor and after publishing, including colourization, etc of the link.
- numbering and bulleting works fine, and appear correct after publishing.
- centre or right paragraph alignment work fine in the editor (show up), but do not get carried through after a save; just remains as normal left-justified paragraphs on the home page.
- bolding, italicizing similarly work fine in the editor, but do not get carried through after a save; just remains normal text when published/appearing on the home page.
- All these occur in both intro and body sections of editor.
- When publishing (saving) the editor seems to consistently put an extra carriage return between the intro and the body sections of the article, or so it seems afterwards on the "read more" page. That's for articles keyed in from scratch. I pasted in a couple of stories from other sites, and it looks as if they had 2 or three blank lines between the intro and body sections afterwards. Neither case was repairable by re-editing the article(s) and trying to delete or backspace over these (unfound) carriage returns.
- logging out seems to produce a blank screen too.

You probably know about the above functionality issues, but I thought I would let you know anyway. I don't see any table function, nor colour function, buttons. Is this the (almost) final version of functionality that is planned to be included in the next version?

BTW, I find the Professional theme (user) login (box) goes a bit strange. I'm pretty sure that right after installation, when I first logged in, it worked fine, i.e., enter admin, then tab, then password. But after I modified config.php as noted above, the next time I had to log in I entered admin, then tabbed, but the tab took me half-way between the name and password entry boxes so that when I keyed the password in, I wasn't keying anywhere. Required me to mouse the cursor to the password box. This same behaviour also happened on the Professional theme to me in 1.3.11 which is (only) one of the reasons I switched to the Webside theme, where the problem has never occurred. May just be my environment, but thought I would let you know.

Let me know if you would like me to test a newer CVS version for you. In the meantime I will continue with testing other functionality. Cheers.

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by sorenson2743: - When publishing (saving) the editor seems to consistently put an extra carriage return between the intro and the body sections of the article, or so it seems afterwards on the "read more" page.

That's actually Geeklog's fault (or an odd "feature"): It always puts 2 BR tags between the intro and the body text.

You can get rid of this by using {story_text_no_br} instead of {story_introtext} in the story template files.

Quote by sorenson2743: BTW, I find the Professional theme (user) login (box) goes a bit strange. I'm pretty sure that right after installation, when I first logged in, it worked fine, i.e., enter admin, then tab, then password. But after I modified config.php as noted above, the next time I had to log in I entered admin, then tabbed, but the tab took me half-way between the name and password entry boxes so that when I keyed the password in, I wasn't keying anywhere.

That's probably because of the (optional) drop-down menu that can now appear between the two fields (for remote authentication). That will have to be fixed ...

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Hmm, spoke too soon - tabs in the login box work just fine for me, in 1.3.11 and in 1.3.12cvs.

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

Blaine

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 16/07/2002
Posts: 1233
Location:Canada
Quote by sorenson2743:
Some early comments about FCKeditor, using admin as editor user :

- still has the "blank page after submission" problem; I'm using 1.77 Mozilla under Suse 9.2 for both the editor and browsing (localhost); my version of Konquerer has never run properly in a javascript editor for some reason, but is useful for verifying the published page (see below); I know about this problem from earlier posts.
- inserting links works fine in editor and after publishing, including colourization, etc of the link.
- numbering and bulleting works fine, and appear correct after publishing.
- centre or right paragraph alignment work fine in the editor (show up), but do not get carried through after a save; just remains as normal left-justified paragraphs on the home page.
- bolding, italicizing similarly work fine in the editor, but do not get carried through after a save; just remains normal text when published/appearing on the home page.
- All these occur in both intro and body sections of editor.
- When publishing (saving) the editor seems to consistently put an extra carriage return between the intro and the body sections of the article, or so it seems afterwards on the "read more" page. That's for articles keyed in from scratch. I pasted in a couple of stories from other sites, and it looks as if they had 2 or three blank lines between the intro and body sections afterwards. Neither case was repairable by re-editing the article(s) and trying to delete or backspace over these (unfound) carriage returns.
- logging out seems to produce a blank screen too.


Thanks for the taking time to test and the feedback.

I suspect the reason why the font styling and padding did not show up was due to your allowable HTML.

Italic style uses the < em > tag.
Bold style uses the < strong > tag
Text color and background use the < font > tag
Indent right uses the < blockquote > tag

Example additions in config.php for allowable HTML Tags would be:

'font' => array('face' => 1, 'size' => 1,'color' => 1),
'blockquote' => array(),
'em' => array(),
'strong' => array(),

The toolbar is very easy to customize, add/remove change order to suit site specific needs. Some will want only the basic set and others will want the full blown editor with table and form features.


Geeklog components by PortalParts -- www.portalparts.com

Status: offline

vinny

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 24/06/2002
Posts: 352
Location:Colorado, USA
Quote by Blaine:
'font' => array('face' => 1, 'size' => 1,'color' => 1),
'blockquote' => array(),
'em' => array(),
'strong' => array(),


Blaine, any reason not to add these to config.php in the user html section (by default)? If not, do you want to do it or should I?

-Vinny

Status: offline

Blaine

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 16/07/2002
Posts: 1233
Location:Canada
Vinny,

Adding the em and strong and maybe blockquote are fine. I suspect adding the font tag attribute will be fine as well but I know we were nervous of it in the past because it's possible to add javascript to a font tag attribute. I suspect that would now be filtered out but need to double check. If it's felt that we are not opening any XSS attack issues then I agree.
Geeklog components by PortalParts -- www.portalparts.com

Status: offline

DTrumbower

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 08/01/2003
Posts: 507
Quote by Blaine: Vinny,

Adding the em and strong and maybe blockquote are fine. I suspect adding the font tag attribute will be fine as well but I know we were nervous of it in the past because it's possible to add javascript to a font tag attribute. I suspect that would now be filtered out but need to double check. If it's felt that we are not opening any XSS attack issues then I agree.


It would be be nice to have the tags in the config.php, even if they are commented out with a note why. Have a note by the editor switch, telling admins to uncomment allowable html.

Sorenson2743

Anonymous
FWIW, I believe that GL should follow through with putting all possible and reasonable tags in config.php, including table and image stuff, so that the admin just has to enable or disable what is needed for that installation. As long as the tags work properly, that is.

The alternative is to have a default "not very rich looking" editor, and a lot of queries at the forum for "how do I enable ....".

Certainly left-centre-right alignment, bullets and numbering, bolding and italics, link and graphic insertion should work out of the box. Tables would really be nice.

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by Sorenson2743: FWIW, I believe that GL should follow through with putting all possible and reasonable tags in config.php, including table and image stuff

Tables are in the default list (although for admins only) and you certainly don't want images in there ...

The default selection is a bit spartanic but it was sufficient, IMO, so far. Of course it should be extended such that it works with FCKeditor "out of the box".

bye, Dirk

Status: offline

gkam

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 30/08/2005
Posts: 2
Quote by Blaine: You may want to try the latest CVS version of geeklog if this is a non-production site. I have the latest version of FCKeditor integrated as an out-of-the-box option if you enable the advanced Editor option in config.php.

I've made quite a few other edits to the advanced editor and am interested in more users testing as well.

Note: FCKeditor 2.0 version is currently final candiate (FC) with an expected final release in July.

Does FCKeditor 2.0 work with the stable release of geeklog 1.3.11sr1 ? Do I use the same procedure as you have specified.

Jesse

Anonymous
Quote by gkam:
Quote by Blaine: You may want to try the latest CVS version of geeklog if this is a non-production site. I have the latest version of FCKeditor integrated as an out-of-the-box option if you enable the advanced Editor option in config.php.

I've made quite a few other edits to the advanced editor and am interested in more users testing as well.

Note: FCKeditor 2.0 version is currently final candiate (FC) with an expected final release in July.

Does FCKeditor 2.0 work with the stable release of geeklog 1.3.11sr1 ? Do I use the same procedure as you have specified.


Works well with GL 1.3.11SR 1. I've just installed it.

Status: offline

gkam

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 30/08/2005
Posts: 2
I finallly did that too. geeklog 1.3.11sr1 with fckeditor 2.0. However, I still experience the problem 'The failing of mozilla http-equiv="refresh" (used in lib-common.php)' with firefox result in blank page. Did you run into the same problem ?

wolis

Anonymous
Anyone managed to change/customise the toolbars?

I have it running smoothly here:
http://wolispace.com/cow

Creative Object World (cow) where you can:
create a comfy chair worth 20 pennies
paint it as green
write in it
site in it

Status: offline

sorenson2743

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 16/06/2005
Posts: 13
Location:Aylmer, ON Canada
Blaine, just downloaded the latest "geeklog-cvs-nightly" ... latest file inside seems to be Sept 10th, so it looks as if it was just updated. Also Pear. Activated the advanced editor via config.php, but I seem to be encountering some problems.

The main one is that, after I have created an article and saved it, I can no longer modify it in advanced mode, just in "plain test" mode. Just completely dead, inert text sits there. Cannot delete text, enrich it (i.e., bold) and whatnot, either in the intro or body sections. FWIW, trying to fix errors in plain-text mode, after initial creation via html mode, is somewhat difficult and discouraging.

I'm running the newly-genned site off the web in "localhost" mode. Could this be the issue? I seem to remember a post about "www" but I can't remember if that was about FCK or Spaw.

Tried using the advanced editor with Konquerer, Mozilla and Firefox, but all act the same. This is your plain-jane install on a Suse 9.3 base. Still have the Mozilla blank-page issue, but that's no problem because all article-writing will be done by only me, the admin.

BTW, when I press the "source" button in the editor, I get a 404 - Object Not Found error box. Also, is there no cut/past/copy functionality in the editor (like bold, indent, etc)?

Is there some other mods that I should be making to the CVS load? From prior posts I assumed that it was an "out of the box" install procedure.

Any estimate on when we should see 1.3.12 out, with a solid advanced editor?

Finally, should I just dump FCKeditor and try Xinha (or whatever it is called)? Installation looks a little complicated for me, but WTH.

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by sorenson2743: Still have the Mozilla blank-page issue

Just wanted to point out that this problem appears to be fixed in Firefox 1.5 Beta 1.

bye, Dirk

anuenue

Anonymous
Whats the secret to expanding the height of the textarea when the fckeditor is enabled? I don't want all of the textareas taller, just a couple, ie body of the story.

Status: offline

Blaine

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 16/07/2002
Posts: 1233
Location:Canada
Are you referring to the implementation of the FCKEditor in the current CVS version of GL as I have added the feature to allow the user to resize the editor area dynamically as you are editing a story.
Geeklog components by PortalParts -- www.portalparts.com

All times are EST. The time is now 05:05 am.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content