Topics

User Functions

Events

There are no upcoming events

What's New

Stories last 2 weeks

No new stories

Comments last 2 weeks

No new comments

Trackbacks last 2 weeks

No new trackback comments

Links last 2 weeks

No recent new links

NEW FILES last 14 days

No new files

Welcome to Geeklog Thursday, April 24 2014 @ 03:32 PM EDT


 Forum Index > Support > General Geeklog Support New Topic Post Reply
 Some Kind Of Spam or Hacking Attack - Hundreds of
First | Previous | 12 | Next | Last
   
ironmax
 12/06/11 10:01PM  
MMMMM
Moderator

Status: offline


Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 659
Quote by: winnerdk

Never mind. I chucked it. Goodbye, ZB Block experiment. It seemed to be working just fine, except for the part about making my website inaccessible, to me...

Don



Interesting...did you include yourself in the whitelist in the zbblock.ini file in the vault directory?

PHP Formatted Code

; *** ZB Block Password ***
;
; Password to control functions of ZB Block
; ?wlpw=<password> to add yourself to the whitelist
; and allow yourself back in.
;
; values:
; "" to neutralize password and turn of control
;    functions globally.
;
; "<password>" Password to control functions.
;        
; default: zbb_pw = ""

zbb_pw = "password"

 


Michael

Have you seen the Geeklog Demo site? Check it out by clicking on the Demo Site link to the left under Resources - Getting started.
 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
winnerdk
 12/07/11 09:55AM  
+++++
Full Member

Status: offline


Registered: 04/24/05
Posts: 336
Yup, did that. Also manually added my IP to the configuration.inc file. Didn't help. As soon as I click on the "Authentication Required" button, boom, I'm out. I banged around for awhile, trying to find something else to tweak, couldn't figure it out, and bailed.

Don

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
Laugh
 12/17/12 04:13PM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/27/05
Posts: 998
Ironmax,

How is zb block working on the demo sites?

I am thinking of trying it out on one of my Geeklog sites.

Did you use any special settings?

Thanks

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
ironmax
 12/17/12 06:33PM  
MMMMM
Moderator

Status: offline


Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 659
Quote by: Laugh

Ironmax,

How is zb block working on the demo sites?

I am thinking of trying it out on one of my Geeklog sites.

Did you use any special settings?

Thanks



Tom,

It works great! However you have to keep an eye on the logs and fine tune it for anyone that is not getting thru to your site, provided they notify you in the first place that they are having issues not connecting. So its a mixed bag of issues, some will notify and others wont bother and go someplace else.

Michael

Have you seen the Geeklog Demo site? Check it out by clicking on the Demo Site link to the left under Resources - Getting started.
 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
Laugh
 12/17/12 06:39PM  
AAAAA
Admin

Status: offline


Registered: 09/27/05
Posts: 998
I will give zb block a try and post back my results. Did you use any special settings on the demo sites?

 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
ironmax
 12/17/12 06:52PM  
MMMMM
Moderator

Status: offline


Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 659
Not that I can recall. Its been awhile since I've had it running on the demo site, or any other site I have. So you will need to download a fresh complete archive of the scripts and do a new install to be sure you have any and all updates that have been made since Dec 2011 when I finally removed it from the Demo site.

Michael

Have you seen the Geeklog Demo site? Check it out by clicking on the Demo Site link to the left under Resources - Getting started.
 
Profile Email Website
 Quote
First | Previous | 12 | Next | Last
Content generated in: 0.90 seconds
New Topic Post Reply

Normal Topic Normal Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Able to post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content