Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Friday, April 19 2024 @ 02:51 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Configuration Links not working

gtgillis

Forum User
I have been running Geeklog on a Windows 2000 server since 2006 but with the 1.8.0 requirement of PHP 5.2 I decided that I would install it on a LAMP server on a newer PC. The Ubuntu server 11.04 system installed without a problem. I moved the files and database and did a migrate install. Initially everything appeared to work until I clicked on the configuration page. I could see the Geeklog->Site config but when I tried clicking on the other links for Stories, Theme, Blocks, etc I stayed on the main Site config page. I remembered seeing a post from Dirk that the configuration page uses javascript so initially I thought it was a rights issue with that directory but after checking I found the permissions were correct.

I copied phpinfo.php into the javascript directory and I would get a not found error when I tried to run it. I then tried renaming the directory from javascript to js and was able to run phpinfo.php without any trouble. This narrowed my search down to something most likely related to apache.

After some searching I found the file /etc/apache2/conf.d/javascript-common.conf has a alias reference so that any attempt to load files from a directory on the server named javascript would be loaded from /usr/share/javascript instead. I commented out the code below and restarted apache and the Geeklog configuration links all work properly.

Before
Text Formatted Code

Alias /javascript /usr/share/javascript/

<Directory "/usr/share/javascript/">
        Options FollowSymLinks MultiViews
</Directory>

After
Text Formatted Code

#Alias /javascript /usr/share/javascript/

#<Directory "/usr/share/javascript/">
#       Options FollowSymLinks MultiViews
#</Directory>