Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, March 28 2024 @ 07:33 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

Modifying blocks

dwl

Forum User
Junior
I'm new to Geeklog and Smarty templates in general.

I have read the tutorials for theming as to the basic thtml structure of Geeklog but the changes I want to make are to the blocks in parentheses - {}. I want to do some custom theming and need to modify the blocks that appear in the left hand side. If I want to modify how a chunk or block of data is turned out by Geeklog, where do I start in file structure to do so?

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Not sure I understand what exactly you're trying to do.

Each block on the left and right side consists of the actual content, sandwiched between a block header and a block footer. Per default, all blocks use the same header and footer templates, but you can override those and, if you want, give each block a different layout.

Does that help?

bye, Dirk

dwl

Forum User
Junior
Hi Dirk,

Hope this clarifies things

Quote by: Dirk

Not sure I understand what exactly you're trying to do.

From the header.thtml file there's this snippet of code
<div class='header-navigation-container clearfix'>
    <ul>
        {menu_elements}
    </ul>
</div><!-- /header-navigation-container clearfix -->

How would I go about editing the code for how {menu_elements} is returned as an HTML block? This is only a small example. The key is that I wish to know where to start looking to edit blocks like {menu_elements}.

Hope you're having a good day,

D.

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
We call those template variables. You can't really change the existing ones, but in many situations, you can define your own. There's a function CUSTOM_templateSetVars() in system/lib-custom.php that shows how to do that.

See if that's more like what you had in mind.

bye, Dirk

::Ben

Forum User
How would I go about editing the code for how {menu_elements} is returned as an HTML block?