Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, March 28 2024 @ 05:04 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Can't select MS SQL during install

gbarnas

Forum User
Greetings,

I'm new to GL and working through the install. Here's the environment:
Web Server: Windows 2008 r2 (x64), w/ IIS 7. This host has 5 IPs (1 for host and 4 for web site instances) and has our primary web site running on it. PHP 5.2.9 is installed and runs our web-mail interface on the primary site. GL 1.7 is installed as a dedicated instance on the second IP address in a /blog subfolder. Disk structure is
E:\Websites\Site2\web - just an index.htm with a redirect to the blog/index.php (for now)
E:\Websites\Site2\Web\Blog - Contents of the GL Public_Html folder
E:\WebSites\Site2 - all other GL folders and files
Basically, a very simple install. I did try the install with all of the Public files in the Web (root) folder, but it did not make a difference.

SQL Server: Windows 2008 r2 (x64) w/ SQL Express 2008 x64. SQL is installed as the default instance, not named instance. SQL Browser service is not running. Both systems are in a perimeter segment, with the web sites published to the Internet via Windows TMG 2010.

Currently, there is one web and one SQL server, but plans for Q1-11 are for a clustered SQL server and 3 load-balanced web servers.

I'm working from a management workstation in the DMZ itself for testing & installation, so everything is in the same subnet. It took a while of generic HTTP 500 errors and no event or application logs and much forum searching to get this far after finally altering the permissions on the webroot/Blog folder.

I can now get to setup Step 2, where it will only allow me to select one of the two MySQL options. MSSQL is in the list but greyed out. I temporarily enabled the SQL Browser service on the SQL server but it did not help. Web applications on the other site can access two databases on the same SQL server without any issue, so communication between the servers is not an issue,