Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, April 25 2024 @ 06:58 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

site_slogan and gl_conf_values

Habitual

Forum User
Chatty
Hello:

I, like a retard put upside down text in my site_slogan field in Admin.
It did not display.

I found gl_conf_values:site_slogan and nuked the value from the field.
s:36:"s??ns ?u??ou? ?ou ?sn???q";

I have no site slogan and the db.table.field shows:

"Because not knowing sucks";

I have tried updating the field from phpMyAdmin and no go.
I've tried
s:36:"Because not knowing sucks";
with no luck.

Updating Slogan in Configuration touches the database field, but doesn't actually show
up in the browser.

Again, another bad, BAD Idea, gone horribly wrong.
Kinda like Velcro Shoelaces.

Don't try this at home people, I am a Professional.

anonymous

Anonymous
Quote by: Habitual

Hello:

s:36:"Because not knowing sucks";

More knowledgeable people may correct me, but I think the number following the "s:" is the number of characters in the string. Since "Because not knowing sucks" has 25 characters it would be s:25:"Because not knowing sucks";

Habitual

Forum User
Chatty
Hello:

You're a genius.

Thank you!

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Hmm, interesting. I just had a somewhat similar effect when upgrading a site from Geeklog 1.4.1 to 1.7.0.

The original site slogan contained a German umlaut. I entered it in the install script during the upgrade and it came up empty on the upgraded site. Like above, I wasn't able to change it in the Configuration. I reset it in phpMyAdmin (to s:0:""; i.e. an empty string) and was then able to enter the slogan again. And it's showing up just fine now (with the umlaut).

Not sure what's happening there. I did notice, though, that the slogan that didn't show up was stored as s:27:... while it's now s:28:... - but I'm sure I entered the exact same text (I did a copy and paste, actually). Weird.

bye, Dirk

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Quote by: Dirk