Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Friday, March 29 2024 @ 11:17 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

New user registration

Sculley

Forum User
Junior
I'm new to Geeklog and helping a friend with her blog. Previous Admin kind of took off and no answer.

After changing Comment Default to Comments Enabled, I then changed the setting in Configurations > Users and Submissions > Users > Disable New Registrations to False so that we could allow comments. I tested the Comments and they are allowed now, however, I signed in as a new user and got this message:

"Thank you for applying for a membership with Asheville Yoga Teacher Training - Subtle Yoga . Our team will review your application. If approved, your password will be emailed to you at the email address you just entered."

Is there a way to just allow the PW to be sent to the new user's email w/o the site owner having to okay the person? The closest setting I found was E-Mail User Login Required? and it's set to False.

Thanks much!

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Configuration > Geeklog > Users and Submissions > User Submission > User Submission Queue

Set that to "False" (which is also the default, btw - someone must have changed that).

bye, Dirk

Sculley

Forum User
Junior
Thanks Dirk. The worked! Is there a way to have the email that sends the new PW automatically go to the login page? The email says:

This password is generated by a randomizer. It is recommended that you change this password immediately. To change your password, log in and then click My Account from the User Functions menu.

Then it gives a link to the homepage but there's no login section. So, I think users will be confused that they have to click Comment on a blog post to login in and then change their info. Or, is there a setting that will automatically display a login section on the sidebar or somewhere?