Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Friday, March 29 2024 @ 07:36 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

New to GeekLog

jws

Forum User
Hi,

I'm new to Geeklog. I've tried many other CMS scripts out there, and so far I have been really impressed by the ease of use and the productivity you can get out of this.

I have hit a roadblock, however. I want to create new links, which are listed on the left of the page. In particular, I would like to create a link to a SMF forum and have the link listed on the left side of the page, like it is here, and also have it open up in _parent, if possible with the links still showing on the left of the page.

If this is not possible, is there a forum mod that I can download that will integrate with geeklog?

Also, on my installation, I still have the link "geeklog" If I delete this, as long as there are no articles listed under it, will it hurt anything?

I sure do appreciate anyone's help.

Thanks in advance. :wink:
JWS

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
The "Geeklog" link you're referring to is probably the topic. You can delete it without any problems, but you need at least one topic to be able to post stories. So you may have to create a new topic.

As for links in side blocks: You can alway create a "normal" block and enter plain HTML in there. That's how the "Resources" block on the left was made.

bye, Dirk

jws

Forum User
Hello,

Thanks for the information. Do you know if the forum can be modded into geeklog like this one is?
JWS

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Quote by: jws

Do you know if the forum can be modded into geeklog like this one is?

What do you mean? The forum here is a plugin - an extension for Geeklog. You can download it from the author's homepage.

bye, Dirk

jws

Forum User
Sweet.

Yeah, that was what I was looking for.

I appreciate that. :wink:
JWS

mst3kroqs

Forum User
Regular Poster

Sweet.

Yeah, that was what I was looking for.

I appreciate that. :wink: