Welcome to Geeklog Saturday, July 11 2020 @ 04:17 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

Geeklog 1.5.0 BETA 1 on IIS 5.1 / PHP 5


Mat

Anonymous
Hi,

Has anyone managed to install Geeklog 1.5.0 BETA 1 on

Windows XP / IIS 5.1 / MySQL 5.0 / PHP 5.2.6 ?

I have put the public_html files in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\GeekLog\ with IIS configured to run Geeklog under http://localhost/

The private files in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\GeekLogInstall.

When I run "http://localhost/admin/install/index.php", i'm asked to locate db-config.php:
I entered: C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\GeekLogInstall\db-config.php.

I'm then prompted to choose the installation method:
I selected: New Install

I'm then prompted to enter Required and Optional Configuration Information:

After I completed the configuration information I clicked "Install>>"

I get a BLANK page returned.

Things I've tried:
- I checked the windows event log and there are no errors.
- I've tried entering C:/Inetpub/wwwroot/GeekLogInstall/db-config.php when I was asked to locate db-config.php.
- Check directory permissions (ensured that IUSR_COMPUTERNAME has correct persmissions to certain GL directories)
- Copy C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\GeekLogInstall\ to C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\GeekLog\GeekLogInstall
- I get a blank page no matter what information for Installation Configuration
Any help would be great!

Thanks alot in advanced
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
Okay...first thing you should do is to extract the archive and files into the geeklog dir or what ever dir you want to call it. Making sure you keep the dir structure the same as whats in the archive. Then in IIS, make your home path, local path to point to the public_html dir of the geeklog dir structure. Click on the following boxes, script source access, read, log visits, and index this resource. While still in this popup box click on Documents and remove all the default page types and add index.php to the list and click OK. In windows explorer, right click on the root dir of that geeklog structure and goto security. Click on add. Scroll down and add ISUR_(what ever the machine name is). Make this new setting Read/Execute, List Folder Contents, Read for the checked boxes.

Now you are able to do the install by going to the http://www.yourdomain.com/admin/install/install.php and complete the setup.

This should get you closer to getting this all working.

Personally I would not use any of the directories under wwwroot as a starting point. If possible, use a directory name on another local drive, as to throw any would be hackers off the possible trail of where they can gain access if you do not secure your site properly.

Michael
 Quote

Mat

Anonymous
Hi Michael,

Thanks for your reply however, I dont think you fully understood my original post.

I have already done all the things you have mentioned and have managed load the setup page but couldnt complete installation.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
Matt, Please read the comments in within your post.
Quote by: Mat

Hi, Has anyone managed to install Geeklog 1.5.0 BETA 1 on Windows XP / IIS 5.1 / MySQL 5.0 / PHP 5.2.6 ? I have put the public_html files in C:InetpubwwwrootGeekLog with IIS configured to run Geeklog under http://localhost/ The private files in C:InetpubwwwrootGeekLogInstall. When I run "http://localhost/admin/install/index.php", i'm asked to locate db-config.php: I entered: C:InetpubwwwrootGeekLogInstalldb-config.php.

PHP Formatted Code

The files in the archive must remain in the same folders on your hard drive when you do the install and afterworlds, unless you make provisions within the config enviroment for the changes.  The file db-config.php should not be in your install directory.  Please see image link below.
 
I'm then prompted to choose the installation method: I selected: New Install I'm then prompted to enter Required and Optional Configuration Information: After I completed the configuration information I clicked "Install>>" I get a BLANK page returned.
You may also want to review these tips here and here as well.
Things I've tried: - I checked the windows event log and there are no errors. - I've tried entering C:/Inetpub/wwwroot/GeekLogInstall/db-config.php when I was asked to locate db-config.php. - Check directory permissions (ensured that IUSR_COMPUTERNAME has correct persmissions to certain GL directories) - Copy C:InetpubwwwrootGeekLogInstall to C:InetpubwwwrootGeekLogGeekLogInstall - I get a blank page no matter what information for Installation Configuration Any help would be great! Thanks alot in advanced

See image here for better explanation. Michael
 Quote

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Separating the install into the contents of public_html and the rest (like you did) should still work. So we need to see the error that caused the blank page.

Try applying the Blank page FAQ entry to your setup. There's also an error_reporting line in the install script (install/index.php) that you may want to change.

Once you get your system to display an error instead of a blank page things will probably become obvious ...

bye, Dirk
 Quote

Mat

Anonymous
Hi Dirk & Michael,

Thanks for your suggestions. I've tried leaving the directory structure as the zip file and enabling error reporting (in both php.ini and install/index.php) but still get a blank page.

I don't know much about PHP but I beleive the code fails on this line in install/index.php in function INST_installEngine:

$myv = mysql_v($db_host, $db_user, $db_pass); <!---- Exception thrown here?

I added the following print statements to the code:

print("1"Wink;
$myv = mysql_v($db_host, $db_user, $db_pass);
print("2"Wink;

The result is only "1" is returned in the response.

Is there some components required by Geeklog that I might be missing in PHP causing that line to fail? Its a fresh installation of PHP (I've not used it for anything else before)

Thanks,
Mat

 Quote

Mat

Anonymous
PS:

I also tried wrapping the statement in a try catch block but it doesnt seem like the catch code is getting executed i.e

try
{
$myv = mysql_v($db_host, $db_user, $db_pass);
}
catch (Exception $e)
{
print("Error: "Wink;
print($e->getMessage());
}
 Quote

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Since this is on Windows I have to be vague due to lack of personal experience ...

Are you sure your PHP install is complete? You may be missing a DLL for the MySQL support. Try feeding that information into the search engine of your choice if you can't figure it out yourself.

bye, Dirk
 Quote

Matt S

Anonymous
FWIW, I just tried twice to install the latest Geeklog on IIS6, Windows Server 2003, PHP 5 and SqlServer 2005.

I got the blank page problem... I have full access to the box so I changed the php.ini file to display errors (double checked it with another script) and I also tried all the suggestions in the blank page FAQ.

I used to do a lot of PHP programming and I might decide at some point to come back to this but for now I am looking at another blogging engine.

Matt
 Quote

Beta

Anonymous
Hi Matt,

I've been tested Geeklog 1.4.1 a couple of weeks ago and needed to change some variables at PHP.INI file in order to make it work. I just tested the new version (1.5.0) and it worked fine (considering the changes I've made previously). I am using the same system configuration as you besides the database (win 2003, PHP 5, IIS6, mysql newest version). PHP Mode is setup as CGI and the PHP.INI variables are setup as follows:

open_basedir = (it is commented out)
register_globals = on
register_long_arrays = on
memory_limit = 16M (I have other PHP apps that require this minimum amount of memory, it might help with the blank page)

Hope it helps. Geeklog is a great app...
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
Quote by: Matt S

FWIW, I just tried twice to install the latest Geeklog on IIS6, Windows Server 2003, PHP 5 and SqlServer 2005.

I got the blank page problem... I have full access to the box so I changed the php.ini file to display errors (double checked it with another script) and I also tried all the suggestions in the blank page FAQ.

I used to do a lot of PHP programming and I might decide at some point to come back to this but for now I am looking at another blogging engine.

Matt



Matt,

Do you have the permissions set correctly for the directories and files? Make sure you are using the IUSR_(machine name) and set the permissions accordingly. If you are using IIS_Lockdown, be aware that it adds a new user to the accounts and denies certain areas to the public. If that is not installed or should I say, configured correctly, this could be part of your problem.

Michael
 Quote

All times are EDT. The time is now 04:17 am.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content