Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Tuesday, April 23 2024 @ 08:05 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

Accessing config.php to edit Slogan?

mgavriel@ucla.edu

Anonymous
Hello,

I am completely new to setting up blogs. My blog was set up by a friend of mine, who I assume knows PHP and all other kinds of complicated computer programming. I am very happy with GeekLog and can maintain everything I need, except that I want to change the Site Slogan. I read in troubleshooting that I can do that by accessing config.php ("a text file"Wink. I downloaded PHP 5, but didn't choose to set up a Web Server, and don't know how to run it. I'm assuming there's no way to access config.php through Internet Explorer.

Can anyone help me change my site slogan by being able to edit Config.php? Is there any reading that will explain this to me? Thank you so very much for your time!

Best,

Michael

mgavriel@ucla.edu

jmucchiello

Forum User
Your webhost should provide you a way to access all the files on your account. If it allows you to edit the files, you can edit the config.php file right there. Otherwise you'll have to download the file, edit it on Windows, and then re-upload it. How this works is entirely dependent on your host provider so we can't be more specific.

Another method would be to find out how to FTP into your account (again your host provider has to provide you instructions for the name of the machine, account name and password, etc). Download a program called Filezilla. It is a good FTP program. (Find it with google.)

mgavriel@ucla.edu

Anonymous
Thank You very much! I will try to login to my host, etc, and perhaps post another response with the results.

mgavriel@ucla.edu

Anonymous
Hello again!

Thank you so much for your help. I finally FTP'd through and edited config.php!

Now I'm going to try to make a huge leap forward and install geeklog on my other website.