Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Friday, March 29 2024 @ 11:07 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

New user account weirdness

spidermann

Forum User
Junior
Ok, I am not a novice and am usually pretty darned good at figuring out issues, but this one does have me a bit stumped.

New users to my site (www.redbluffalumni.com) can create accounts just fine. They get the email with their password and can log in.

Now comes one of two problems that are showing up.

Problem 1: Accounts created with Windows browsers are not showing up in the "Who's Online" block with their usernames, but as "guests". As if the system is not recognizing them. Accounts created with Mac browsers are just fine in this respect. Yes, I tested with Firefox in both OSes (Tiger and XP SP2).

Problem 2: No one can edit their profiles for any reason. I can't get this one at all. Everything was working fine until tonight. People go to make changes and it states "To change your password, email address, or for how long to remember you, please enter your current password." When I log in as an account user (a few people on the site I know in person) I can't even edit the Bio portion. It states that I have to make sure the email address matches the ones the user registered with. They are both the same.

No idea what is going on.

Any help or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.

Spider

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
The bit about users not showing up with their name (in the Who's Online block) may be due to the privacy settings. You can opt not to show up with your name, in which case you would be counted as an anonymous user.

Actually, I have been wondering for a while why so few people seem to show up with their name here on geeklog.net. It's possible that we have a bug there somewhere ...

bye, Dirk

spidermann

Forum User
Junior
Hi Dirk,