Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, April 18 2024 @ 06:17 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Oh no! Not the fopen-problem again!

Per Andersson

Anonymous
Dear all

I belive that I have been a good geeklog admin and RTF(ine)M, searched the forum, googled but I am still stuck. I have the (very common noobie) problem that the log-files (and so on) can't be opened and the usual answer is the permissions but in this case the permissions are (at least I think so) set in a correct way. I have tried both 775 and 777. Here is some of the output from check.php:

Testing your Geeklog installation ...

Testing logs directory /opt/geeklog/logs/ ...
Could not open error.log and access.log for writing.
Please check that you have set the logs directory and the files error.log and access.log in that directory to chmod 775.
Current permissions for logs: 777
Current permissions for error.log: 777
Current permissions for access.log: 777

The webuser (here named webgl) is the owner of the geeklog directory and can read and write the log-files from the command line. The rest of the installation is working fine and all the plugins seems to work OK. I have installed Geeklog on other sites without a hitch and the local config.php seems allright compared to the configs on the other sites and there is nothing wrong with the paths according to the log-files in /etc/httpd/logs.

Please, tell me that I have missed something simple Doh! - that was a mistake

Geeklog version: 1.4.0sr5-1
Mysql: 4.1.20
PHP: 4.3.9
Apache:2.0.52

TIA!

/Per Andersson

1000ideen

Forum User
Is it the first installation? Are you sure you checked the setting to 777? Depending on the FTP programme it can look irritating. Maybe check again, 777 is o.k.

Per Andersson

Anonymous