Welcome to Geeklog Friday, July 03 2020 @ 11:45 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Theme Editor Plugin

Page navigation


Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/06
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
I have created a theme editor for Geeklog which allows you to edit template files (*.thtml) and cascading style sheets files (*.css) ONLINE.

You can download it from here.

Include in it are the plugin files and readme files (in English and Japanese).

NOTE: This is a TEST RELEASE and there might be some unexpected bugs. So I don't recommend that you use the plugin on the "commercial" sites.

Any bug reports or suggestions will be welcome.

-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."
 Quote

Status: offline

kemal

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 05/04/05
Posts: 103
Location:Turkey
when i installing giving this error

PHP Formatted Code
An error has occurred:
2 - file_get_contents(/home/httpd/vhosts/dieterbohlen.org/httpdocs/geek/layout/professional/style_jp.css): failed to open stream: No such file or directory @ /home/httpd/vhosts/dieterbohlen.org/httpdocs/geek/plugins/themedit/functions.inc line 489
 


and here is my error.log

PHP Formatted Code
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:02:21 EEST - Attempting to install the themedit Plugin
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:02:21 EEST - Creating thm_contents table
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:02:21 EEST - Success - Created thm_contents table
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:48 EEST - Attempting to install the themedit Plugin
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:48 EEST - Creating thm_contents table
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:48 EEST - 1050: Table 'gl_thm_contents' already exists. SQL in question:  
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:48 EEST - Error Creating thm_contents table
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:48 EEST - Attempting to unregister the themedit plugin from Geeklog
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:48 EEST - Removing Table gl_thm_contents
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:48 EEST - Removing themedit Admin Group
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:48 EEST - Removing root users from admin of themedit
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:48 EEST - Removing themedit.admin feature and rights to it
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:48 EEST - ...success
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:59 EEST - Attempting to install the themedit Plugin
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:59 EEST - Creating thm_contents table
Mon 02 Oct 2006 03:06:59 EEST - Success - Created thm_contents table
 

_KEMAL_
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
I think the Theme Editor works great so far. I did have an issue with the install portion but after reading why, there were no real issues. Good going on a plugin that I think that everyone needs, atleast for the begginers out there. Page error when install went as follows:

PHP Formatted Code

Warning: file_get_contents(/root/public_html/layout/professional/style_jp.css) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in rootpluginsthemeditfunctions.inc on line 489

Warning: file_get_contents(/root/public_html/layout/professional/style_forum.css) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in rootpluginsthemeditfunctions.inc on line 489

 

 Quote

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/06
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
Thanks for reporting, kemal and ironmax.

I created the plugin initially for the Geeklog Japanese members, so I put into the $_THM_CONF['allowed_files'] var the files 'style_jp.css' and 'style_forum.css', which exist only in the Geeklog distribution customized in Japan. I'll fix the bug in the next version.
-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."
 Quote

Status: offline

mrobinna

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 02/10/06
Posts: 7
Location:Inglewood, Ca
Question Any word on this? Sounds like a great idea, anybody get it working with the English version?
============= Mr. Obinna The 1 and Only
 Quote

ironmax

Anonymous
Quote by mrobinna: Question Any word on this? Sounds like a great idea, anybody get it working with the English version?


Yes it works great...all you have to do is make sure you configure the proper settings in the config file.

PHP Formatted Code

// Files to be edited with this plugin
// NOTE: file names are case-sensitive

$_THM_CONF['allowed_files'] = array(
        'header.thtml', 'footer.thtml', 'leftblocks.thtml', 'rightblocks.thtml',
        'storybodytext.thtml', 'featuredstorybodytext.thtml', 'style.css', 'style.css',
        'style_forum.css'
);

 

 Quote

Status: offline

mrobinna

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 02/10/06
Posts: 7
Location:Inglewood, Ca
Banging your head LOL, thanx ironmax. I guess if I actually took the time and read I would have noticed that you guys posted how you got it to work.

I finally got it installed, the only problem I'm having now is actually using it, When I hit preview after making a change I still see the current theme. I'll play with it some more and see if i can get it to work. Thanks for all the help though
============= Mr. Obinna The 1 and Only
 Quote

Status: offline

samstone

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/09/02
Posts: 820
What does "Initialize" button do and mean?

Each time I press "Preview" it adds a back-slash infront of quote signs and if I click on the "save" button, it addess three back-slashes infront of the quotes. The "Initialize" button would clean it up, but I can save the file only with three back slashes all over.

So far the only file I am able to edit successfully is the style.css file.

What am I doing wrong?

Sam
 Quote

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/06
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
Quote by samstone:
What does "Initialize" button do and mean?

Each time I press "Preview" it adds a back-slash infront of quote signs and if I click on the "save" button, it addess three back-slashes infront of the quotes. The "Initialize" button would clean it up, but I can save the file only with three back slashes all over.

So far the only file I am able to edit successfully is the style.css file.

What am I doing wrong?

Sam

Thanks for reply, Sam. When you press the "Initialize" button, the contents of the file you're editing will be reverted to the state when the Theme Editor plugin was installed. And as for the back-slash problem you reported, I guess it might have something to do with magic_quotes_gpc. I'll see if this is the case.

-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."
 Quote

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/06
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
I've updated the plugin to v1.0.2. Fixed the case with extra back-slashes. You can download from HERE.
-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."
 Quote

Status: offline

TechSys

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 02/12/03
Posts: 90
I've been out of GeekLog for a while, didn't know anything about this plugin until 20 minutes ago.

Trying it on my test system now. Installed without a hitch and working great. Makes life easy as heck when working with themes. Haven't ran into any problems so far and have changed quite a bit of the professional theme (the easy stuff so far).

One thing that would be nice is a search, since the files can get rather large. If there is one, I may have overlooked it.

Not sure if there is anything else I can say about this plugin, except it's a great idea. Hopefully it can be expanded more, somehow.
http://70.145.174.180/
 Quote

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/06
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
Quote by: TechSys

One thing that would be nice is a search, since the files can get rather large. If there is one, I may have overlooked it.

I haven't implemented a search feature yet. If you use Firefox or Opera as a browser, you can use each browser's built-in search function (ctrl+F).
Quote by: TechSys

Not sure if there is anything else I can say about this plugin, except it's a great idea. Hopefully it can be expanded more, somehow.

Any ideas or suggestions will be welcome. Feel free to post in this forum.
-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."
 Quote

Status: offline

TechSys

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 02/12/03
Posts: 90
This is probably going to be a stupid question, but, how do you add themes to the allowed themes part of of the config? I didn't see it in the readme file.
I tried adding another line with 'themename' in it, but got an error.
http://70.145.174.180/
 Quote

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/06
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
Quote by: TechSys

This is probably going to be a stupid question, but, how do you add themes to the allowed themes part of of the config? I didn't see it in the readme file. I tried adding another line with 'themename' in it, but got an error.

Around line 57 in the config.php, you'll find the next line:
PHP Formatted Code

$_THM_CONF['allowed_themes'] = array(
        'professional'
);
 
If you'd like add a theme, say, 'professional_altered', add it like this:
PHP Formatted Code

$_THM_CONF['allowed_themes'] = array(
        'professional', 'professional_altered'
);
 

-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."
 Quote

Status: offline

TechSys

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 02/12/03
Posts: 90
I really should have known that. It works. Thanks for the quick reply
http://70.145.174.180/
 Quote

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/06
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
I've released the themedit (Theme Editor) plugin 1.0.4 for Geeklog. In this version, you can uoload image files directly to /images directories under each theme's directory. You can download it from HERE.
-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."
 Quote

Status: offline

TechSys

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 02/12/03
Posts: 90
Installed it last night without any problem. Pretty darn easy to upgrade from previous version.

Image upload works great. Only thing I didn't like is when going to the image upload it changed the theme to one I wasn't working on. I was working on my Tech theme, but it went to the professional. Not really a big problem, just got to watch and make sure it's on the correct theme.

Makes life a whole lot easier, especially for somebody learning to theme GL. I've lost count on the number of times I've changed things.
http://70.145.174.180/
 Quote

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/06
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
Thanks for using Theme Editor plugin, TechSys. I'll deal with the inconvenience you pointed out in the next version.
-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."
 Quote

Status: offline

TechSys

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 02/12/03
Posts: 90
Anything to help out. Not too good with php (right now), so gotta try to show some support when I can.
http://70.145.174.180/
 Quote

Status: offline

samstone

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/09/02
Posts: 820
A feedback or bug.

None Themeditor adim can see the Themeditor icons in the "Command Control." Even though that user can't access the themeditor, presenting the icon to someone who can't use it seems not quite polite.

Is there an easy way to turn it off?

Sam
 Quote

Page navigation

All times are EDT. The time is now 11:45 pm.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content