Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, March 28 2024 @ 02:00 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Help Request

RichardTowler

Forum User
Chatty
My geeklog site, GameFaction is looking for abit of help, basically I need to customize the system alittle more, nothing that complicated I'd guess, i'm no expert though, but just basically adding a few features here and there, image attachments to the calender, new sign up options, changes to the links system, if anyone would like to talk further about what I'd like done, let me know, would really appreciate it Smile
GameFaction - For All Your Gaming Needs

tokyoahead

Anonymous
As a general note on "new features":

beware that you might have to re-implement those features with every new version of GL coming out. If you dont, you might be prevented from upgrading and thus exposed to security issues. Therefore new features are usually not just a "bit of help" but more of an ongoing support request.

I suggest to ask for new features to be implemented into the core system so they will be updated too, and new features can be made available for the whole community. If the feature's programming is sound and the feature itself not too specific to a certain task, it can be implemented.

BTW: efore you have someone make changes to the calendar, I advise you to wait a couple of weeks for the 1.4.1 version to come out. The calendar will be a plugin then and much easier to change/maintain.

RichardTowler

Forum User
Chatty
Thanks for the tip, the way I have of doing at the moment is, a list/note of things that I have changed, and each time a new version comes out that needs these changes applying, just re edit, as once the work is done its pretty easy to change that side of things I have found, as I'm still able to upgrade pretty much straight away when an update is released.