Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Tuesday, September 27 2022 @ 11:59 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Mailing list plugin ????


Status: offline

Al Dykes

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 02/12/06
Posts: 2
I see there is a mailing list plugin but it hasn't been worked on
in 3 years and never made it to version 1.0.

Is it functional in 1.4 ?

(Signed)
New Geeklog site owner.
 Quote

Status: offline

DTrumbower

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 01/08/03
Posts: 507
Yes it works. I use it on a site.
 Quote

Status: offline

appie252001

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 12/05/05
Posts: 17
For me it is not working well, I upgraded Geeklog to 1.4.0 and now the link to Mailing Lists in de Admin is not working anymore. Also creating a new list is giving the same error.

Mailing Lists System Message
You do not have permission to use this function. You're attempt to access this page has been logged.

The functions for the users seems to work fine, I only can not admin the Mailing Lists anymore.

If someone know a solution, please let me know.

Thanks.
 Quote

Status: offline

deek

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 34
What version of the plugin are you guys using?
 Quote

Status: offline

appie252001

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 12/05/05
Posts: 17
Version lists_0.3_1.3.7.tar.tar

As far as I know this is the latest.
 Quote

Status: offline

deek

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 34
Thanks Smile
 Quote

Status: offline

DTrumbower

Forum User
Moderator
Registered: 01/08/03
Posts: 507
Quote by appie252001: For me it is not working well, I upgraded Geeklog to 1.4.0 and now the link to Mailing Lists in de Admin is not working anymore. Also creating a new list is giving the same error.

Mailing Lists System Message
You do not have permission to use this function. You're attempt to access this page has been logged.

The functions for the users seems to work fine, I only can not admin the Mailing Lists anymore.

If someone know a solution, please let me know.

Thanks.



I have test site using 1.4 and it works. It was a fresh install. Maybe try an unstall and reinstall.
 Quote

Status: offline

appie252001

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 12/05/05
Posts: 17
If I do a uninstall is all the data then secure. I have already a list of members and I do not want to lose this.

I will make a back-up ofcourse, and try this next weekend.

Thanks.
 Quote

Status: offline

appie252001

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 12/05/05
Posts: 17
The uninstall and install is not solving the problem, it is still giving the same fault. I have a next problem, I can not restore the database back-up, so the lists is completely gone now.

If someone have a idee how to fix this, please help. It should be great if someone can make the lists plugin final, it is still a beta version now. I could not find any plugin with the same functionality.

Thanks.
 Quote

Status: offline

lbpp

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 06/10/05
Posts: 57
on a side note, i looked all over the downloads section for the Mailing list plugin, i even did a search and nothing came up. Can someone toss a link to the download?
 Quote

Status: offline

deek

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 34
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/gplugs/lists_0.3_1.3.7.tar.gz?download

I havn't been able to get this to work myself. Post if you get it working.

Cheers,
Deek
 Quote

Status: offline

1000ideen

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 08/04/03
Posts: 1298
There is the description:
http://www.pigstye.net/gplugs/staticpages/index.php/20030301185421751
 Quote

John

Anonymous
I've got this installed, and it will send mail, but the HTML formatting is getting completely stripped out. I have looked everywhere through the files, and made sure all HTML settings are set to "on" or "1", but no dice. Are those of you who have it working able to send HTML mail?

thanks,

John
 Quote

Status: offline

deek

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 34
I can not seem to install this plug in to save my life. I put everything in its respective directory but when I go to /admin/plugins/lists/install.php and click on the install button the page will refresh and it will still say installed: no and enabled: no. There are no errors generated in my log and the SQL tables are not created. Any suggestions?
 Quote

John

Anonymous
Quote by John: I've got this installed, and it will send mail, but the HTML formatting is getting completely stripped out. I have looked everywhere through the files, and made sure all HTML settings are set to "on" or "1", but no dice. Are those of you who have it working able to send HTML mail?


Forgot to mention that sometimes it sends plain text, and othertimes it sends visible HTML code. It's also backslashing all the quotation marks.

If somebody could just let me know that it does indeed work to send HTML mail, I'll keep troubleshooting it.... thanks!
 Quote

freeman

Anonymous
sad
Quote by appie252001: For me it is not working well, I upgraded Geeklog to 1.4.0 and now the link to Mailing Lists in de Admin is not working anymore. Also creating a new list is giving the same error.

Mailing Lists System Message
You do not have permission to use this function. You're attempt to access this page has been logged.

The functions for the users seems to work fine, I only can not admin the Mailing Lists anymore.

If someone know a solution, please let me know.

Thanks.


That's what I get. Did a fresh install to GL 1.4.0sr4. The install seemed to go smoothly but I can't access list admin.

To bad. This is a plugin that adds a whole knew demension to Geeklog.
 Quote

Status: offline

Ook

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 07/26/06
Posts: 39
The error message is generated by on of these two blocks of code in /admin/lists/index.php . $_LISTSTXT[3] is the error message. Looks kinda' like the second block to me. But I don't know php.

Near the top of file:
Text Formatted Code
if ( isset($_USER['uid']) && $_USER['uid'] != 1 ) {
    $results = lists_admin_getdata($ml_id, $mode);
    $nrows   = DB_numrows($result);
    if ($nrows <= 0) {
        $mode = 'none';
        $retval .= lists_message($_LISTSTXT[3]);
 


Near the bottom of file:
Text Formatted Code
            if (!empty($id)) {
                $ml_id = $id;
                list($index, $table, $fields, $submissiontable) = PLG_getModera
                DB_copy($table,$fields,$fields,$submissiontable,$index,$ml_id);
                PLG_approveSubmission('lists',$ml_id);
                $results  = lists_admin_getdata($ml_id, $mode);
                $display .= lists_message(sprintf($_LISTSTXT[52],$ml_id));
                $display .= lists_admin_edit($results, $ml_id);
            }
        } else {
            $display .= lists_message($_LISTSTXT[3]);
 

"A conclusion is the place where you got tired of thinking."--Steven Wright
 Quote

Status: offline

Ook

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 07/26/06
Posts: 39
Quote by deek: I can not seem to install this plug in to save my life. I put everything in its respective directory but when I go to /admin/plugins/lists/install.php and click on the install button the page will refresh and it will still say installed: no and enabled: no. There are no errors generated in my log and the SQL tables are not created. Any suggestions?


When you get that second page, there should be a button below

"installed: no
enabled: no"

The button should say "install."

Click on that.
"A conclusion is the place where you got tired of thinking."--Steven Wright
 Quote

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 01/12/02
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Just a wild guess since I'm not familiar with the plugin but it sounds like it requires register_globals to be "on".

HTH

bye, Dirk
 Quote

Status: offline

Ook

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 07/26/06
Posts: 39
sneezy
OK, I put an .htaccess file--wanted to password the directory anyway while I mess with my new Geeklog install.

Inserted:

php_flag register_globals on

No change. Giving it a try My host probably disallows it.

I think I would have to learn to rewrite the necessary parts with "session_register" syntax anyway. It is suppose to be far more secure.

But it is a moot point for me. I discovered my host does not allow email lists within its user accounts. You have to use their pay-per-piece list.
"A conclusion is the place where you got tired of thinking."--Steven Wright
 Quote

All times are EDT. The time is now 11:59 pm.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content