Welcome to Geeklog Saturday, November 18 2017 @ 05:00 am EST


erZwo

Anonymous
brainy
Hi!

I have big problems to install the gallery2 plugin for geeklog version
0.4.2, i am using geeklog 1.4rc1 with PHP 4.2.2 and MySQL 3.23.52 at a
linux server.

First of all, i have installed gallery">gallery2 here and my
geeklog here, but there
are seperated databases for each application.

Here is the error.log entry from geeklog, after that my geeklog DB is
broken and i have to make a new geeklog DB from my backups:

Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Installing the GL_Gallery2 plugin
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Creating {$name} group
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - GL_Gallery2 Admin group ID is 74
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Adding GL_Gallery2.admin feature
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Feature 'GL_Gallery2.admin' has ID 54
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Adding feature [54] to group [74]
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Adding block (glg_rand_photo, Random
Photo, phpblock_GLG_rand_photo, 2) : []
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Adding block (glg_block, Gallery2,
phpblock_GLG_block, 2) : []
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Giving all users in Root group access to
GL_Gallery2 admin group
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Registering GL_Gallery2 plugin with
Geeklog
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - GLG_AddExternalMap( 6, 2 )
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Failed to create an external map entry
for GL uid [2] and G2_uid [6], entityType [GalleryUser].
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Here is the error message from G2:
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Error (ERROR_STORAGE_FAILURE)
in modules/core/classes/GalleryStorage/DatabaseStorage.class
at line 1238
in modules/core/classes/GalleryStorage.class at line
296
in modules/core/classes/interfaces/ExternalIdMap.inc at
line
98

Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Removing the GL_Gallery2 plugin...
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - Removing tables
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - DROP TABLE IF EXISTS glg_vars
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - GLG_RemoveExternalMap( 6, 2 ) code>

after that come many entires like that:

Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - 1146: Table 'serendipity.glg_vars' doesn't exist. SQL in question: SELECT value FROM glg_vars WHERE name = 'control_block'
Don 19 Jan 2006 15:25:46 CET - 1146: Table 'serendipity.bad_behavior_log' doesn't exist. SQL in question: DELETE FROM `bad_behavior_log` WHERE `date`


The name of the gallery2 DB is serendipity, because i used an old
Database with that name for the gallery2 installation.

That was my second try to install the gallery2 plugin at my website, can
anybody help me please to figure that problem out?

Thank you very much in advance!

Status: offline

trip

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 25
I just installed it on my system with little trouble. The documentation is a bit confusing since the plugin name is so close to the Gallery2.

What is the path to your geeklog install, and what is the path to your gallery2 install?

Also, is register globals turned on on your system? It's off on my system, so I copied php.ini file to the admin/plugins/GL_Gallery2/ and GL_Gallery2 that has register globals on.

Don't know if that will work for you or not.

bretthoward

Anonymous
I too am having this problem. I've just done a fresh install of geeklog. My pathing is as follows.

Geeklog Config Dir: /var/www/
Geeklog Public HTML Dir: /var/www/html/
Gallery2 Standalone Dir: /var/www/html/gallery2

The error I see is VERY similar to the one mentioned before:

PHP Formatted Code
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:25:05 PM PST - Removing the GL_Gallery2 plugin...
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:25:05 PM PST - Removing tables
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:25:05 PM PST - DROP TABLE IF EXISTS gl_glg_vars
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:25:05 PM PST - GLG_RemoveExternalMap( 6, 2 )
Fri 27 Jan 2006 18:33:27 PST - Installing the GL_Gallery2 plugin
Fri 27 Jan 2006 18:33:27 PST - Creating {$name} group
Fri 27 Jan 2006 18:33:27 PST -  GL_Gallery2 Admin group ID is 17
Fri 27 Jan 2006 18:33:27 PST - Adding GL_Gallery2.admin feature
Fri 27 Jan 2006 18:33:27 PST - Feature 'GL_Gallery2.admin' has ID 25
Fri 27 Jan 2006 18:33:27 PST - Adding feature [25] to group [17]
Fri 27 Jan 2006 18:33:27 PST - Adding block (glg_rand_photo, Random Photo, phpblock_GLG_rand_photo, 2) : []
Fri 27 Jan 2006 18:33:27 PST - Adding block (glg_block, Gallery2, phpblock_GLG_block, 2) : []
Fri 27 Jan 2006 18:33:27 PST - Giving all users in Root group access to GL_Gallery2 admin group
Fri 27 Jan 2006 18:33:27 PST - Registering GL_Gallery2 plugin with Geeklog
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:33:28 PM PST - GLG_AddExternalMap( 6, 2 )
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:33:28 PM PST - Failed to create an external map entry for GL uid [2] and G2_uid [6], entityType [GalleryUser].
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:33:28 PM PST -    Here is the error message from G2:
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:33:28 PM PST - Error (ERROR_STORAGE_FAILURE)<b>in</b> modules/core/classes/GalleryStorage/DatabaseStorage.class <b>at line</b> 1238 (gallerystatus::error)
<b>in</b> modules/core/classes/GalleryStorage.class <b>at line</b> 294 (mysqldatabasestorage::addmapentry)
<b>in</b> modules/core/classes/interfaces/ExternalIdMap.inc <b>at line</b> 96 (gallerystorage::addmapentry)
<b>in</b> /var/www/plugins/GL_Gallery2/functions.inc <b>at line</b> 649 (externalidmap::addmapentry)
<b>in</b> /var/www/html/admin/plugins/GL_Gallery2/install.php <b>at line</b> 282
<b>in</b> /var/www/html/admin/plugins/GL_Gallery2/install.php <b>at line</b> 299

Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:33:28 PM PST - Removing the GL_Gallery2 plugin...
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:33:28 PM PST - Removing tables
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:33:28 PM PST - DROP TABLE IF EXISTS gl_glg_vars
Fri 27 Jan 2006 06:33:28 PM PST - GLG_RemoveExternalMap( 6, 2 )

 


When I run the install script it hoses up my geeklog database so badly that it will no longer render pages. My quick fix at the moment has been to just manually drop and recreate the table and then re run the geeklog installation.

I've even manually created the database structure that GL_Gallery2 wants and it gives the same error. Even though it sas its attempting to drop the table it doesn't.

The error made me think that it was a problem getting the geeklog and the gallery2 user databases to sync up proberly so I gave the gallery_usr ful permissions on the gallery2 database. Still no avail.

I'm pretty confused about the relative path variable in the GL_Gallery2 config.php. I've got no clue what its supposed to be relative to by reading the examples.

Currently I have GL_Gallery2 in /var/www/plugins/GL_Gallery2
there are also pieces of it in the html dir and in the admin section.

Now being that you've seen my install locations is this the correct way to have my config.php?

PHP Formatted Code
$_GLG_CONF['G2_path'] = '/var/www/html/gallery2';
$_GLG_CONF['G2_relative_path'] = '/gallery2';

 


Any help is greatly appreciated!

Status: offline

trip

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 25
bretthoward
you should be like this:
$_GLG_CONF['G2_path'] = '/var/www/html/gallery2';
$_GLG_CONF['G2_relative_path'] = '../gallery2';

I did that too, those darn elusive dots.

I too have had to do a complete sql insertion replacing the old db with my last backup.

Status: offline

bretthoward

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 27/01/2006
Posts: 13
Location:Eugene, OR
Ok now I've done this with the config.php in that manner and I received the same errors. I've also tried it with '../../gallery2' to no avail.

When you say you had to do a sql injection of your backup you mean that you just broke your geeklog install??? Or does that mean that I was on the right track by doing the SQL table creation for GL_Gallery2 by hand?

Also one other thing to note is that I WAS sure to change the admin account information in GeekLog so that it was exactly the same username and password as the admin account for Gallery2. Not sure if that is required but the docs for GL_Gallery2 allude to it so I did so.

Status: offline

trip

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 25
Quote by bretthoward: Ok now I've done this with the config.php in that manner and I received the same errors. I've also tried it with '../../gallery2' to no avail.

When you say you had to do a sql injection of your backup you mean that you just broke your geeklog install??? Or does that mean that I was on the right track by doing the SQL table creation for GL_Gallery2 by hand?

I know register globals will screw it up if they arn't set to on. Sorry, but I am outta solutions. ../gallery2 should be the right for the set up.

Status: offline

bretthoward

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 27/01/2006
Posts: 13
Location:Eugene, OR
I turned on the globals using a .htaccess file in /var/www/html do I need to put that .htaccess file in more than just that directory?

Status: offline

trip

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 25
Quote by bretthoward: I turned on the globals using a .htaccess file in /var/www/html do I need to put that .htaccess file in more than just that directory?

I don't know, possibly. They way I have been doing that has been putting the php.ini in all folders that require it in public section of GL, including admin/plugin/GL_

Status: offline

bretthoward

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 27/01/2006
Posts: 13
Location:Eugene, OR
Just tried it one more time with the up one dir in front of the gallery2 in the config.php and I just re did the install of geeklog from scratch again and I put the .htaccess file in /var/www/html /var/www/html/GL_Gallery2 and /var/www/html/admin/plugins/GL_Gallery2. The only thing in the .htaccess file is:

PHP Formatted Code
php_flag register_globals on
 

Status: offline

bretthoward

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 27/01/2006
Posts: 13
Location:Eugene, OR
Quote by trip:
Quote by bretthoward: I turned on the globals using a .htaccess file in /var/www/html do I need to put that .htaccess file in more than just that directory?

I don't know, possibly. They way I have been doing that has been putting the php.ini in all folders that require it in public section of GL, including admin/plugin/GL_


What does your php.ini look like and what folders do you have it in?

Also it should be noted that I don't get the warning about the globals stuff when I do the install of geeklog.

Status: offline

trip

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 25
What does your php.ini look like and what folders do you have it in?


Looks like it is the entire php.ini file but with globals on

Status: offline

bretthoward

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 27/01/2006
Posts: 13
Location:Eugene, OR
I just did a find | grep for php.ini and I don't have one anywhere at all on my system. This is an older install and I'm going to be moving all of this to a new server once I figure out what all I want to install. So far I'm very pleased with this CMS. And I really really like the Gallery2 system with its remote image upload application.

Status: offline

trip

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 08/10/2003
Posts: 25
Quote by bretthoward: I just did a find | grep for php.ini and I don't have one anywhere at all on my system. This is an older install and I'm going to be moving all of this to a new server once I figure out what all I want to install. So far I'm very pleased with this CMS. And I really really like the Gallery2 system with its remote image upload application.

I think the php.ini is in /etc folder, which depending on your server, you may or may not have access to, that is why I am placing the overriding php.ini file in my folders that need it.

Status: offline

bretthoward

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 27/01/2006
Posts: 13
Location:Eugene, OR
No I'm SSH'ed into the server as root and I did a find | grep from / and there were no occurances of php.ini.

Status: offline

bretthoward

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 27/01/2006
Posts: 13
Location:Eugene, OR
Take that back... I found /usr/share/doc/libphp_common430-430/php.ini-recommended
and
/usr/share/doc/libphp_common430-430/php.ini-dist

Thats all.

BTW my php version is 4.3.1 as per /var/www/html/admin/install/info.php

Status: offline

suprsidr

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/12/2004
Posts: 555
Location:Champaign, Illinois
If you are using a cvs version of gallery with the new core, GL_Gallery2 will not work. There have been some core G2 functions that have changed.

It should work fine with 2.0.2.
When you install GL_Gallery2 it maps the current user as admin to G2. If you have setup G2 with an admin name of say Admin, and are logged into geeklog as Admin when you install GL_Gallery2, then you will get a collision.
When I setup G2 I usually set admin name to GalleryAdmin to avoid this collision.

The gallery storage error is either a path misconfiguration or a permissions problem.

register_globals on or off works with G2.

Cheers!
FlashYourWeb and Your Gallery with the E2 XML Media Player for Gallery2 - http://www.flashyourweb.com

bretthoward

Anonymous
I've tried a new instal after installing a new aache, php, and mysql and all seems to be better now. I've got it installed but I've moved into another problem.

I've got some sort of user sync problem. When I created my first non super user things went great. I created her on the geeklog page and then it created a gallery2 user as well and I was able to create a gallery. I then later used the remote and was able to upload more pictures that way too.

But now that I'm trying to create another user later in the game something seems to have gone ary. I've got it setup so that I see the DHTML links on the left so that users can select the gallery that they want to go to in a tree form. Now if I'm not logged in I can see that block just fine. But as soon as I log into the GeekLog page as this new user that block disappears. But that block works just fine if I'm logged in as Admin or as the first user I created.

PS I've not actually activated eithe of these users properly. They've both been manually activated in the admin page instead of going through the email that is supposed to be sent out. All in all if I can get this to work like the first user did for all users I'm excited. This is a match made in heaven! Some very nice work has gone into GeekLog!

Status: offline

suprsidr

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/12/2004
Posts: 555
Location:Champaign, Illinois
GL_Gallery2 does not map your user to gallery until the first time they visit gallery.

Also your links to gallery need to be through the GL_Gallery2 plugin ie: http://www.yoursite.com/GL_Gallery2/index.php?g2_view=core.ShowItem&g2_itemId=1322

and it sounds like you are not giving anonymous users permission to see your links.

Something we did on a large community site was to setup user albums in gallery2 and have gallery create them on first visit by username. And I change the link in the geeklog User Functions block to point to the users own album with this code:
PHP Formatted Code
function plugin_getuseroption_GL_Gallery2()
{
    global $_CONF,$_USER;

$ret = GLG_G2_init();


$username = $_USER['username'];
list ($ret, $user) = GalleryCoreApi::fetchUserByUserName($username);
if ( !$ret->isError() )
{
list ($ret, $albumId) = GalleryCoreApi::getPluginParameter('module', 'useralbum', 'albumId', $user->getId());
return array( 'Your Gallery', $_CONF['site_url'] . '/GL_Gallery2/index.php?g2_view=core.ShowItem&g2_itemId='.$albumId , 0 );
}
}
 
which works out great.
you can see this in action here

Cheers
FlashYourWeb and Your Gallery with the E2 XML Media Player for Gallery2 - http://www.flashyourweb.com

bretthoward

Anonymous
Ok so I got that installation all working... Then when I put in the new geeklog (non RC version) I wiped the database and started again with a new clean one. Now I'm trying to get the new clean install of geeklog to hook up with the already somewhat populated Gallery2 install.

Problem is that I copied all of the GL_Gallery2 stuff into the 3 directories that it wants me to and then I even ran a chown to make sure that apached owned what he should but this time when I go into the admin page I don't see a link to install the plugin? What exactly is being looked for in order for that to appear? When I tell my page to manually go to http:///GL_Gallery2 I get a SQL error. And when I go to http:///admin/plugins/GL_Gallery2/install.php I get a thing that says Gallery_2 Install but there is no text under the header....

Any simple tips of what I'd missed? Previously I remember thinking it was pretty simple to get that link to appear....

Thanks

~Brett

Status: offline

suprsidr

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/12/2004
Posts: 555
Location:Champaign, Illinois
There are some path settings you need to set in path_to_geeklog/plugins/GL_Gallery2/config.php

Sounds like you did not do this step. Or did not get them right.
FlashYourWeb and Your Gallery with the E2 XML Media Player for Gallery2 - http://www.flashyourweb.com

All times are EST. The time is now 05:00 am.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content