Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, March 28 2024 @ 07:11 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

In way over my head...please advise...Geeklog and Gallery

lyle krannichfeld

Anonymous
Ok, so I just installed Geeklog and it's running fine. I am not satisfied with the gallery options available, and I see I can integrate Gallery into Geeklog. Everyone seems so think it's really easy, but I am a complete noob here and all the explanations I've seen go over my head. I've searched high and low for an easy to understand tutorial, but i have had no luck.

In the past I'd installed Geeklog 'manually' on a site, but I found a nifty thing on my control panel that installed it for me (fantastico). Made my day. This is also coincidentally how I found out about Gallery, as it will install that for me as well. So I had it install it in public_html/gallery. It's different enough from Geeklog that I'm totally lost at this point...

Is there an easy to understand tutorial for this? Can someone please rescue me here? I notice people here have done it...

Do I need to just uninstall it and start fresh? But then what?

Thanks in advance!

Lyle

sam

Anonymous
I am also new to this but have a question
after installing gallery to /public_html/gallery did you run the gallery config? the config has an option for intergrating into geeklog and many other settings.

tstockma

Forum User
I haven't used any of those "special" control panel utilities to install either GL or Gallery, so I might be missing something important about how they work--but here's my take--

(Unless your control panel ran this for you, somehow, magically) Sam's got it right, you need to run public_html/gallery/config.php from your web browser to get Gallery to set itself up as an add-on to GL.

You can re-run config a number of times as experiments without having to start over, but I suppose you could muck it up badly enough to have to start over--