Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Wednesday, April 24 2024 @ 07:52 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

Moving The Featured Story Block

Arcanum

Anonymous
confused
I want to have my main page with only two columns. I don't want the left, middle, right block layout. I want to get each of the columns of equal width and they would both have many rows. The top-left row would be the featured story block, and the rest would be blocks I made. Basically I just want the front page to be a page of blocks with links, but I want the featured story block to be in the top left of the page, with the left blocks then underneath the featured story block and the right blocks to the right side of it.

My question is, how do I move the featured story blocK? I have been messing around with the template files but I can't get it to display above the left blocks. Does anybody know how I would go about this? I'm a newbie to PHP and GeekLog and haven't been able to figure it out myself yet. Thanks in advance for any help.

machinari

Forum User
you cant put the featured story in the same column as the left blocks technically speaking. you have to move the left blocks to the rightside either in admin/blocks or in the 1.3.10 config file.

still wont solve your problem. here are a couple of ideas:
1. once you have moved your left blocks into the right column, create a staticpage set as a centerblock that displays underneath your featured article. that static page will be the equivalent of a block and you can load it up with your links. this will only suit you if you can have more than one static page as a centerblock on the main page and i don't know if you can or not.
2. an easier way would be to use CSS and position your featured story block absolutely. and again using CSS, position your left column underneath the story block using absolute positions. the problem here is that you featured story changes its size from story to story so you would have to deal with that, which is possible but often messy.