Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Tuesday, April 16 2024 @ 08:24 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

Trying to make a choice

Dale

Anonymous
Hi everyone. Thanks in advance for reading in and offering your thoughts.

I am experienced with old style webmastering...html, javascript, CSS, MySQL, CGI, etc. I want to set up a new site for a special interest community. I see that weblogs are the way to go. I did a lot of reading and Geeklog, though not the most popular, seems to be very secure and thrifty in it's use of system resources. These qualities are more important to me than using the best know names. Sure, finding a million hot themes to try out is great, but not the only thing to consider.

I am not a PHP coder. But for an old dog, I learn new tricks pretty quickly. I will deal with it Wink

So, a few questions:

Can I create a frameless version by creating new templates?

I saw on these Forums that there is a Mod to include PHP functions in static html pages. I also read in the Documentation that PHP code can be used with a couple of restrictions. Are there other restrictions as to the code, functions, or calls that I might want to place on static pages? ( I might be needing a lot of them)

Though I will have a section for users to upload their articles, a lot of my content will be articles I have already written. Will I be able to post an index to a library of articles located in the MySQL database for users to call up? I would like an index or search feature that is more sophisticated than "previous 5 articles".

I did read about URL renaming. But is there a problem with having search engine robots index a GeekLog site? I want robots to see as much of my content as possible.