Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Tuesday, March 19 2024 @ 05:21 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

Cannot connect to page

ola_one

Forum User
These are the steps that I took. I am a real novice at this, I just could not get geeklog to work with Apache, PHP and MySql. These are all running on win2000 Advanced Server. MySql is running without a root user password for now as well. The following are the steps that I took... I downloaded geeklog 1.3.7sr2. I then used WinRAR to unpack it. The instruction says that winzip corrupts the files sometimes. The next thing was that I copied the public_html directory(folder) into the htdocs directory. Should this have been the files inside the folder or should I have copied the whole folder? I tried to edit my config.php to show path, and I think maybe this is where my problem lies. I only tried to edit two areas because that is what the installation instruction said. The 2 areas are: $_CONF[\'path_html\'] and the second one is $_CONF[\'path\'] In the 2 situations, I was supposed to write out the path and I thought I did. The path to the first one is C:/Program Files/Apache Group/Apache2/Htdocs/public_html The Path to the second is C:/Program Files/Apache Group/Apache2/Geeklog After I finished this, all I was supposed to do was edit lib-common.php which I thought I also did. This path is to point to the location of the config.php The config.php is in the Geeklog directory which means that the path is the same as the second path above. I then need to install Geeklog with my browser by navigating to: http://yourgeeklogsite/admin/install/install.php When I put localhost instead of yourgeeklogsite, I got the page cannot be found, and when I left yourgeeklogsite, I still got page cannot be found. There is definitely something wrong here, please help. The config.php file looked really confusing to me so I am thinking that that is where I screwed up. Please help!!!

DTrumbower

Forum User
Quote by ola_one: