Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, April 18 2024 @ 11:35 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

Registration Problem :(

Anonymous

Anonymous
Hi Guys. I know a lot of people had this problem, but neither solution (that I found, actually) worked with me. Everytime a user clicks on the "New User" link and fill up the data, Geeklog does not send his/hers password via e-mail... Mass mailling works perfectly (via the Admin interface)... I've tried to debug the PHP code, but I'm not a PHP programmer (C++ actually), so no luck there... any tips? I'm running Geeklog on Gentoo Linux 1.2, Apache/1.3.27 and Geeklog 1.3.7. Thanks!

rawdata

Forum User
Most likely the problem has something to do with PHP's mail() function and/or your mail server. If you're running your own server, first verify that you have the latest software release and patches for the mail server. That may fix the problem. If not, then insert some debugging either right before or after the mail function in the function emailpassword located in users.php. This will allow you to check whether GL is passing the right info to the mail function. You can either do this by sending the output to the error log like this:
Text Formatted Code

COM_errorLog("toemail: $A['email'] <<list out the rest of the variables here>>",1);
or to the screen using COM_errorLog (replace 1 with 2) or with an echo statement like this:
Text Formatted Code

echo("toemail: $A['email'] <<list out the rest of the variables here>>");
If you send output to the screen, you probably will want to temporarily comment out this section so you can read it since refreshes are pretty fast.
Text Formatted Code

if ($msg) {
            $retval .= COM_refresh("{$_CONF['site_url']}/index.php?msg=$msg");
        } else {
            $retval .= COM_refresh("{$_CONF['site_url']}/index.php");
        }