Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, March 28 2024 @ 09:38 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

php.ini

lisajames

Anonymous
Hi, I'm trying to install geeklog for the first time. When I try to run install.php, I can't get past step one. I believe the problem is due to the following: "Geeklog needs the register_globals variable turned on in order to work. Since PHP 4.2.0, the default for register_globals is "off". To fix it, simply add the following line to your php.ini file: register_globals=on" My site host is running PHP 4.2.2. and the php.ini file is in /usr/local/lib/. Since I can't access that directory, is there any way around this? Or do I have to beg my site host to make this change for me? I am not good at begging or cajoling.

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Does the Geeklog install script tell you that register_globals is off? If you see this message: "You have register_globals = Off in your php.ini. However, Geeklog requires register_globals to be on. Before you continue, please set it to on and restart your web server." just above the dropdown where you select New Database / Upgrade Database, then register_globals is indeed off and, yes, you need to beg your hosting service to switch it on (actually, I can't believe any hosting service can afford yet to switch register_globals off since it would break so many scripts that it would make PHP support widely unusable for it's customers). If you don't see that message, then register_globals is probably on and the problem you have is something else. bye, Dirk

ndarlow

Forum User
Junior
Actually, begging might not be necessary. The ini_set function entry for register_globals specifies INI_PERDIR and INI_SYSTEM. The INI_PERDIR facility indicates that register_globals may be controlled via a .htaccess file in the appropriate directory. You might want to try this before asking your provider to relax things. -- Neil Darlow M.Sc.

Anonymous

Anonymous