Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Tuesday, April 16 2024 @ 11:20 am EDT

Geeklog Forums

1.3.5 install problems

Anonymous

Anonymous
Hello everyone, I'm new to geeklog and would like to use it. I think it is a neat tool and the development team seems kewl. When I install geeklog everything goes okay until I get to the web based install script. I go ahead and complete the first step of entering in the path to geek log. I get to the second step and press next for the database settings. For some reason the success.php page comes up blank with no error or anything. Any of you guys have an idea?? I reall would like to use and contribute to the geeklog tool. thanks, woody

jlhughes

Forum User
OK, I'm trying to install geeklog and I'm reading the install guide. I've got config.php modified and I've told lib-common where the file is. I'm ready to create the mySQL tables. I have phpMyAdmin already installed. INSTALL.HTML says there are files named table.sql and data.sql. No such files exist in the package I downloaded. This is a new installation not an upgrade. Where's the *.sql files for creating a new set of tables?

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin

You don't need those files (I guess the instructions need to be updated ...).

After you have modified your config.php and lib-common.php (and set the access rights to the logs and backend folders) all you do is call the installation script. It will create the tables for you. You need to create a database before that, though.

Best thing to do is to follow the instructions in the file named INSTALL and ignore the INSTALL.HTML (which is in the docs folder). With this you should be able to get Geeklog up and running.

bye, Dirk

jlhughes

Forum User