Welcome to Geeklog Saturday, October 21 2017 @ 03:29 pm EDT


Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/08/2003
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
Would you consider making the optins a yearly and a per item listed charge?


A yearly charge can be made without changes to zClassifieds, look at the workaround that Robin described in an earlier post in this thread. I've tried it and it worked fine.
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking: www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net

Me

Anonymous
Is there a way to make a block for the main page that displays the latest ad?

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/08/2003
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
Well, the wishlist is increasing...it would be a nice option. It would be even nicer (since we all want to get rich ) to allow that option only to advertisers who are paying extra for showing their add(s) on the frontpage...

Something else for the wishlist wich should not be that difficult: show all adds from a certain advertiser..
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking: www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net

Status: offline

Turner

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 11/04/2005
Posts: 42
Is there a way to make a block for the main page that displays the latest ad?


Yeah. This would be pretty simple. In lib-custom create a phpblock_latestad function that selects the latest X ads and then returns them to a phpblock you define in the blocks option. If you would look at one of the functions in lib-custom, you likely could do it yourself after a little experimenting.

What would be nice is having a thumb nail return to the block. Don't know how to do that, really.

Status: offline

drshakagee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 01/10/2003
Posts: 231
Just a minor suggestion you might want to change the link that says "home" to something like "classified home" since clicking on it doesn't return you to the home page but to the classified page. The forum plugin by default has the same problem and I have gotten a few users confused emails about it "I can't get back to the home page".
Yes I am mental.

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/08/2003
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
It's getting quiet in this thread. I hope we didn't overwhelm you with requests, Robert?

Greetz, Bas

PS If you can't find someone for the Mustang, just drop me a line....
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking: www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net

Redneck

Anonymous
cheerful
beewee can you show me the thred where I can setup a yearly charge for submitting an ad in Zc?

Redneck

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/08/2003
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
Sorry, I can't because there isn't one. The workaround I mentioned is in this thread and was about the permissions to list an ad.

You could have a look at some billing software for ISP's at Sourgeforge.net or Webhostingtalk.com, set up a different usergroup for submitting ads with Blaine's Group Access tool and a (free) PayPal business account so people can pay with credit cards without having a PayPal account.
But it's not all automatic so you'll have some paperwork to do...

Some relief: I'm setting up a portal where people have to pay a yearly fee for submiiting stories and ads, so perhaps I'll hire a programmer to make something for me. But I'm not ready for it yet.

BTW we must not forget Robin's efforts, and he does have a PayPal account..
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking: www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net

Redneck

Anonymous
I am happy to help out with donations. I am just interested in a way to have payment on either a quarterly or yearly deal.

Thanks

Status: offline

Robin

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 15/02/2002
Posts: 725
Quote by beewee: It's getting quiet in this thread.

Appearances may be deceiving I've been concentrating on templates recently. Introduced some changes and as soon as possible I will be releasing the final, hopefully, RC.
Quote by beewee:I hope we didn't overwhelm you with requests, Robert?

Not at all my vriendin I really appreciate all the input from all of you.

Robert
Geeklog Polish Support Team

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/08/2003
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
Not at all my vriendin


'Vriendin' means girlfriend in dutch.....next time please just use 'vriend'...it's not a dating site...
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking: www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net

Status: offline

Robin

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 15/02/2002
Posts: 725
Quote by beewee:'Vriendin' means girlfriend in dutch

Oops
Sorry vriend
Geeklog Polish Support Team

Status: offline

Robin

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 15/02/2002
Posts: 725
happy
I've just released RC5, hopefully the last one. Yall can get it here.
Enjoy As usual
Geeklog Polish Support Team

Status: offline

williambrandes

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 09/11/2004
Posts: 32
Location:Mount Vernon OH USA
I downloaded the latest release and will have to play with it. As for a classifieds on my site, however, I went around this a bit different and have a classifieds program set in an IFrame on William Brandes Consulting. It is a simple program. Also have two others that are stand alone and open in a new window. Cheers. William
William Brandes Consulting www.wbrandes.com

Upgrading

Anonymous
I want to upgrade to this version. I have already made categories in a previous version of zclassified. Where do I save those and what is the easiest way to upgarde? Just overwite other files or What?


Redneck

Status: offline

redneck

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 11/04/2005
Posts: 24
Oops, forgot to login,

Redneck

Status: offline

Robin

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 15/02/2002
Posts: 725
Quote by Upgrading:what is the easiest way to upgarde? Just overwite other files or What?

To upgrade RC4 just overwrite the files. There were no changes to DB.
Robert
Geeklog Polish Support Team

Status: offline

redneck

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 11/04/2005
Posts: 24
Thanks Robin, Before I upgrade is there a way for payment request in this version. So I can charge for submitting an ad?

Thanks for all you have done,

Redneck

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/08/2003
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
Great work Robin, but is it correct that if i list an ad with 5 images, I can see all 5 thumbs on the page 'recent.php', and only one thumb at the page detail.php ?

IMHO it should be otherwise...
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking: www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net

Status: offline

Robin

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 15/02/2002
Posts: 725
Quote by beewee: Great work Robin, but is it correct that if i list an ad with 5 images, I can see all 5 thumbs on the page 'recent.php', and only one thumb at the page detail.php ? IMHO it should be otherwise...

Well done beewee That's why they call it RC. I will investigate it asap. Thanks for your feedback
Robert
Geeklog Polish Support Team

All times are EDT. The time is now 03:29 pm.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content