Welcome to Geeklog Monday, December 18 2017 @ 01:25 pm EST


Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512
that's right.. the dailyquote plugin version 1.0.3 for geeklog has been released and you can find it at summitpages.ca.
It is also awaiting approval here at geeklog.net.

new features for those upgrading include:
* clickable categories as well as category index page.
* clickable contributors leading to their profile page.
* google linked quotee's.
* configurable components for the center, php, and regular blocks. see the admin page for more info.

see the change log

for those of you who are new to this plugin, I think you'll like it--assuming it works for you.

Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512

thought that I would mention, before you all started in on me, that the link to the promised category index page will only show up if you actually have more than one category.

oh, and until the category management page is done, and rather than trying to add a quote just to get a new category in your db, you can add categories manually by adding rows to the gl_dailyquote_cat table in your database, but don't delete any if there are quotes already belonging to them or you'll have troubles.

Status: offline

shetzel

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 19/03/2004
Posts: 39
Fabu-tron. I'll hopefully get time to kick the tires this weekend.

Thanks for starting a new thread, and thanks for replying to the old one so that I'd get notified. I would have checked eventually, but now I get it before the weekend.

Status: offline

jhackwith

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 24/07/2004
Posts: 63
Location:Lewiston, Idaho
Well, I installed 1.0.3, and everything appears to be working alright except for the categories index page.

The Categories page is completely broken. It's waaaaaaay too wide and is in its present state totally useless.

See it in action at:
http://www.intotheflame.com/dailyquote/catindex.php

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Jason
"Beauty... is the shadow of God on the universe." ~ Gabriela Mistral -- Desolacíon

Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512
Holy Moly! you are right when you say its broken... I've only tested it with about 20 categories.. I'll look at that right away and post the fix. It wont be difficult.

In the mean time, if you look at the code, you'll see a couple of different options for listing the categories. the other options are commented out. perhaps one of the other options will do you.

thanks for having so many categories. but seriously, that is a bug that wouldn't have been caught until someone went over 30 categories and I probably wont myself. so good job!

btw, jhackwith, I really like what you've done with it. diff text here and there; good styles; etc.

Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512
viola, this should fix your problem J.
change line 138 of catindex.php from this:
PHP Formatted Code
                if ($i == $col){//($i % $col === 0){

 

to this:
PHP Formatted Code
                if ($i % $col === 0){

 

let me know if that helps.. worked for me.

Status: offline

jhackwith

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 24/07/2004
Posts: 63
Location:Lewiston, Idaho
There ya go! Worked great for me.

Thanks a million,
Jason

P.S. See my e-mail reply to your query.
"Beauty... is the shadow of God on the universe." ~ Gabriela Mistral -- Desolacíon

sam

Anonymous
the same thing is happening in add2.php. The font table is throwing my theme out of whack. I am using Marine theme by axonz.

thanx

Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512
Quote by sam: the same thing is happening in add2.php.

It wont be the same issue that is causing the problem. perhaps you can provide a bit more detail. a picture of your page may help--easier to track the problem if I can see the output.

off the top of my head though, I would suggest that your fix will be in the template files somewhere (not getting along with your theme): batchaddform.thtml; addformheader.thtml; addformfooter.thtml. You can test that theory by viewing the page using another theme. If it displays ok, then compare those theme's template files with your present theme's to find the problem.

hope that helps

Status: offline

dewdoo

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 03/01/2004
Posts: 65
Well here is the link to a screen capture I did here

I hope this helps. I tried it with the default theme (professional) and it push my table far right. Not as bad. but I would like to use Marine theme. I am not good with comparing codes....pretty much a cut and paste kinda guy.

Thanx

Sam

Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512

seems to me this is probably a MAC / browser issue.
the overflow: scroll and/or overflow: auto styles may not be properly supported by either your browser or your browser on your OS.

try this: on line 23 of batchaddform.thtml, change "overflow: scroll;" to "overflow: auto;"
see what difference that makes.

also, on the same line, if auto didn't work by itself, add this: "width: 600px;" or the width of your choice.

hope some of that helps.. let me know and i'll revise my code if necessary

Status: offline

MrHyde

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 09/11/2003
Posts: 15
I've installed this version and it is mostly working fine for me. Congratulations.

I was unable to add some quotes to the database. When I used the add2 form, it gave me 5 errors which I traced to 5 similar quotes. So I tried adding them one by one using the add.php form. However, it keeps telling me that the quote already exists in the database. I've looked at the database through phpMyAdmin and they are not there. What is your code using to see if the quotes already exist or not. These quotes that I am trying to add are very similar. In fact, the first 10 or so words are exactly the same as other quotes. The only changes I have made is to add the title field and modify add.php and add2.php to be able to insert that field into the table.

Also, I had a look at some of the template files cause I wanted to make some changes to the layout and text. The templates use variables enclosed in curly brackets {}. Where are those variables being set? I mainly want to change the title saying "Quote of the day" as well as display my title as well. I noticed a commented out title line in one of the templates, but couldn't figure out where the variable was being populated from.

Cheers,
Vivek

Status: offline

jhackwith

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 24/07/2004
Posts: 63
Location:Lewiston, Idaho
Quote by MrHyde: I mainly want to change the title saying "Quote of the day" as well as display my title as well. I noticed a commented out title line in one of the templates, but couldn't figure out where the variable was being populated from.


You can change all of the text displayed by the plugin, including the title, in the language file located in [geeklogdir]/plugins/dailyquote/language/english.php.

HTH,
Jason
"Beauty... is the shadow of God on the universe." ~ Gabriela Mistral -- Desolacíon

Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512
yes yes, the language file is the first place to start.
now about those duplicate quotes: to ensure that quotes are not loaded twice, they have been indexed according to the first 32 characters, if i remember correctly--check your dailyquote_sql_install.php file located in the <geeklog>/plugins/dailyquote/sql/ directory.

Of course you may increase this number to accommodate your very similar quotations, however, your indexing and search time, not to mention your database size, will take a hit. If you have a substantial number of quotes, that hit will be substantial.

Try it out by using phpMyAdmin. You'll be editing the size of the index created on the "Quotes" UNIQUE KEY from 32 to some larger number. This is done on the structure tab (should be the default tab when opening up the table).

Let me know if that helps.

Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512
if you want the category management page (BETA) you can download the relevant pages at summitpages.ca.

Only the relevant pages are included and are for testing if you wish. The page itself is fully functional, however, the ability to disable quotes according to category has yet to migrate to the display pages. Only category titles are affected as yet. No help for this one yet--you'll have to wait for the plugin version 1.0.4, but I wouldn't mind your comments.

be warned, it may mess up your lookup table--such is the nature of beta.

Jill

Anonymous
Hello,

We love this plugin which we have just installed on our GL site without a problem. We are mindful of the time and effort required to produce one of these things...so congratulations to the develper on a fantastic piece of work.

A question: Is there an easy way to edit an individual quotation? Sometimes we don't notice a typo straight away when moderating submissions and want to go back later and make changes to an individual quotation. We would love to see perhaps an "edit" link for admins incorporated with the quotation listings - that would be fantastic (or perhaps we are just noobs and have been missing something already there? )

We also saw mentioned here somewhere something about a quotation title field perhaps being incorporated. We'd love to be able to do too!!! (Don't want much, now do we? )

Thanks Jill

Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512
Hi Jill, I am very glad that you and whomever else you are speaking for like the plugin. I spent a couple of months on it one weekend.

The edit link you speak of will be in the next release. I keep forgetting.
in the mean time, if you notice one of your quotes is a bit off, take note of it and enter it into the search form on the manage page... it will come up and you can edit it from there.

as far as the title field goes... I am wavering. It seems to me that the category field should fill this role. It is do-able, but.. hmmmm.. I just don't know.

convince me.

Jill

Anonymous
Ah excellent...we can't wait to see the direct "edit" link in the next version. Much as we LOVE the plugin -- doing a search each time for an individual item can be a little cumbersome (especially if you're doing a lot of editing like we are... ok ok so we admit to making a lot of typos ).

Convince you that the title field is a useful thing? ...the pressure. Hmmm ok well we must admit to using the plugin not only to collect quotes but also various other items including poems, song lyrics, hints and tips, testimonials, jokes etc. It would be beneficial for our users to be able to identify what sort of item they are looking at...Is this a quote? a lyric? a testimonial? We thought that we could use the title field as a means of further identifying a listing...such as...Lyric: The Long and Winding Road...unless of course you can think of a better way of doing it

Regards Jill

Status: offline

machinari

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 22/03/2004
Posts: 1512

So you are categorizing the entries.. then further defining them using titles. Is that the idea? hmmm... I wonder how that is different from simply adding an already categorized item to another category.

for example, a poem belonging to the "milton" category as well as the "poem" category. this would allow your users to click on the "milton" category to see all items in that category, or to click on the "poem" category to see all the poems (not just by milton). A title field would be specific to the item and not clickable to anything else. Do you see what I mean? This is actually why a created the possibility of a single item belonging to multiple categories.

You almost had me convinced but then I remembered the categories.
I'm still open to argument if you like...

Status: offline

shetzel

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 19/03/2004
Posts: 39
Quote by machinari:
So you are categorizing the entries.. then further defining them using titles. Is that the idea? hmmm... I wonder how that is different from simply adding an already categorized item to another category.

Not to mention the judicious use of the new Source field....

By the way, machinari, I'm enjoying 1.0.3 very much. I especially like the block config options so I can turn on/off all the stuff. It's everything I've ever asked for. (Until I think of some more... ) Thanks.

I enjoy the other improvements, too. I've re-imported all my movie quotes with the source and date fields intact, and my custom hacks are now very few. I also like the code clean-up you've done. Having one place where a new quote/cache quote is retrieved makes it very much easier to poke around.

Now I'm off to check out the (beta) category management page, so I can offer something constructive on the feature I suggested.

All times are EST. The time is now 01:25 pm.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content