Welcome to Geeklog Friday, November 24 2017 @ 05:58 am EST


Status: offline

ronack

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 27/05/2003
Posts: 612
Okay I remembered the url_rewrite feature in config..php. I turned that on and now know that I don't have that capability.

realpanama

Anonymous
I am sorry to hear that....

If anything, you can take the output and save it as a .xml file and put it where it belongs. At least you know it generates the needed file.

I will, at some point, attempt to create a proper plugin... I was hoping somebody with far more experience would take it from here, but there doesn't seem to be enough interest.

Admin
www.realpanama.org


tagstar

Anonymous
Quote by ronack:I don't see the need to index images either. Unless you are offering up those images for download. I have one person who creates graphic pictures and he allowes folks to download them. So I could understand his site being indexed for images.


Exactly, I just post images not worth stealing. So if someone does an image search, gets context related image, and that draws them to my site. All the better

Status: offline

Chrispcritters

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 11/05/2005
Posts: 49
Location:Tustin, CA
Any updates on this thread?

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/08/2003
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
I've just installed the dynamic sitemap generator from Softswot.

Is just a single file, and a few config lines to edit. And Google accepted the sitemap, and the sitemaps seems to index the articles quite well (but I do use quite some url_rewrite tricks). I'll keep you posted.
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking: www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net

Status: offline

beewee

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/08/2003
Posts: 969
Location:The Netherlands, where else?
Well, Google says the sitemap is OK, and if I have a look at the sitemap also the older articles etc are indexed, 5 levels deep, so I'm quite happy!
Dutch Geeklog sites about camping/hiking: www.kampeerzaken.nl | www.campersite.nl | www.caravans.nl | www.caravans.net

Status: offline

kemal

Forum User
Regular Poster
Registered: 05/04/2005
Posts: 103
Location:Turkey
good but only for "stories".. Static pages not indexing on map!!
_KEMAL_

Status: offline

lokki

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 19/03/2005
Posts: 59
I'm currently using SOFTplus GSiteCrawler
It is a standalone crawler engine, which has a capability of exporting crawled urls' list to Google sitemaps. I indexed all and every page of my site with it, even the forums. It works ok with google, as for me
It's for Windows only, though
Here's the link

Yeraze

Anonymous
excited
I just took RealPanama's code and tweaked it into a standalone PHP script that you can drop in your Geeklog's Root directory. This way you don't have to eanble PHP on your static pages.

Find the details at http://www.yeraze.com/article.php/20061024103250340

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/2006
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
I've created a Google Sitemap Generator as a Geeklog custom function. You can download it from HERE. Give it a try and tell me how it goes.
-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."

Status: offline

Dazzy

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 19/07/2003
Posts: 200
Location:N. Ireland
Quote by: mystral_kk

I've created a Google Sitemap Generator as a Geeklog custom function. You can download it from <a href="http://www.geeklog.net/filemgmt/index.php?id=783">HERE</a>. Give it a try and tell me how it goes.



I will try this now and let you know
Dazzy

Status: offline

Dazzy

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 19/07/2003
Posts: 200
Location:N. Ireland
Ok, never really understood cron so I went the other route and added it to lib_custom, followed the usage instructions.

I'm probably doing something worng but nowt happens when i call the function.

Dazzy

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/2006
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
Please check the error log (<geeklog>/logs/error.log). Is there any line beginning with "GSMAP: "?
-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."

Status: offline

Dazzy

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 19/07/2003
Posts: 200
Location:N. Ireland
Thats the first thing I checked, and there was nothing.


Dazzy

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/2006
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
Quote by: Dazzy

Thats the first thing I checked, and there was nothing.


Well, then, maybe CUSTOM_runSheduledTask() hasn't been called yet. You can call phpblock_gsmap() directly as follows:

1. Create a static page. Enter the following code into the content:
PHP Formatted Code

phpblock_gsmap();
 

2. Check "Centerblock" and choose "execute PHP" from the "PHP" dropdown list.
3. Display your site and a sitemap will be created.

-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."

Status: offline

Dazzy

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 19/07/2003
Posts: 200
Location:N. Ireland
after a bit of fiddling i got it to work many thanks this works great.
Dazzy

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/2006
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
Hi, everybody, I forgot to add the following: as for Geeklog-1.4.1, if you call phpblock_gsmap() from within lib-custom.php, be sure to do so from function CUSTOM_runScheduledTask not CUSTOM_runSheduledTask. The latter is valid only with Geeklog-1.4.0.
-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/2006
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
I'm sorry to say that phpblock_gsmap.php doesn't deal with static pages properly. 1. The function judges Geeklog's url rewrite flag wrong. To fix this, exchange line 154
PHP Formatted Code

$url .= '?page=';
 
for line 158
PHP Formatted Code

$url .= '/';
 
2. The function picks up all static pages. If you would like to choose only the pages which are meant to be displayed in the center block, change line 146
PHP Formatted Code

$sql = "SELECT sp_id, sp_date FROM {$_TABLES['staticpage']} WHERE (perm_anon IN (2, 3)) ORDER BY sp_date DESC";
 
into
PHP Formatted Code

$sql = "SELECT sp_id, sp_date FROM {$_TABLES['staticpage']} WHERE (sp_centerblock <> 0) AND (perm_anon IN (2, 3)) ORDER BY sp_date DESC";
 
Thanks for using phpblock_gsmap.php.
-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."

Status: offline

oskay

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 14/09/2006
Posts: 13
I tried it out and it seems to map the site-- a little too well.

All of my "draft" flagged stories show up in the site map along with the stuff that's actuall up-- Yikes!

Status: offline

mystral-kk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 19/03/2006
Posts: 100
Location:Japan
Quote by: oskay

I tried it out and it seems to map the site-- a little too well. All of my "draft" flagged stories show up in the site map along with the stuff that's actuall up-- Yikes!

Oops, I quite forgot the draft flag. Please change line 111 from
PHP Formatted Code

$sql = "SELECT sid, date FROM {$_TABLES['stories']} WHERE (perm_anon IN (2, 3)) ORDER BY date DESC";
 
to
PHP Formatted Code

$sql = "SELECT sid, date FROM {$_TABLES['stories']} WHERE (draft_flag = 0) AND (perm_anon IN (2, 3)) ORDER BY date DESC";
 

-- mystral-kk, "Every cloud has a silver lining."

All times are EST. The time is now 05:58 am.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content