Welcome to Geeklog Tuesday, October 17 2017 @ 04:41 pm EDT


Jordy

Anonymous
Don't really know what you are refering to. I paid Blaine to take care of it. He knocked it out quickly.

Jordy


jnordquist

Anonymous
After nearly four years geeklog'ing, I finally got around to custom registration. It was simple. I just added age, location, and gender. Plus I make them agree to the user agreement, included on the page:

See: http://www.kenoshaonline.net/users.php?mode=new


Toby

Anonymous
Jordy

This answer is a day late and a buck short, since you already got some custom coding done, but anyway I used this custom registration script and came up with the same problem-after trying to submit the new user signup, the page just reloaded and the form reset. (I am using 1.3.11). Maybe the custom registration code is different in a different version of geeklog, but the problem was that the custom_userform function in the example has the parameters ($uid="",$msg=""). This is incorrect. It should just be ($msg). This is because when the users.php tries to call custom_userform, it passes one parameter ($msg, usually) BUT the function in lib-custom actually had two parameters. So that quick fix solves the whole issue.

Hopefully this post will help others who have come across the same problem.

Short Version: in lib-custom.php, change this:
PHP Formatted Code
function custom_userform($uid="",$msg="")
 

to this:
PHP Formatted Code
function custom_userform($msg)
 

Status: offline

jordydme

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 03/11/2005
Posts: 135
Thanks for taking the time Toby

Status: offline

Frlitz

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 28/01/2004
Posts: 15
I am attempting to use the custom registration example, it is nearly finished but I need answers for two questions.

I have read an earlier post about using checkboxes in the custom registration but I did not find an answer.

1. Is it possible to use checkboxes in the custom registration?
2. How do you return an error message without having the user to re-enter all of the data? i.e. if the form contains firstname, lastname, street, city, state, zip and these are all required.

Thanks

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by Frlitz: 1. Is it possible to use checkboxes in the custom registration?

Sure.


Quote by Frlitz: 2. How do you return an error message without having the user to re-enter all of the data? i.e. if the form contains firstname, lastname, street, city, state, zip and these are all required.

In the CUSTOM_userForm function, you'll have to populate all the fields again with the values from their respective $_POST entry.

bye, Dirk

Ancona5

Anonymous
I follow all the steps ... but on new user registration, when i click Submit, nothing happen

what can I do????????????????????????

Status: offline

gtgillis

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/11/2003
Posts: 121
Location:Spring, TX
I enabled the cutom_registration example in lib-custom to require the full name. I also added the code below to the function custom_usercheck to deny mistacronks dot com and to send me an email so I can keep an eye on things:

PHP Formatted Code

        if ( stristr( $email, '@mistacronks.com' ) ){
                $msg = 'Due to the number of spam accounts created using this domain, we dont accept registration from <b>mistacronks.com</b>.  If you would still like to sign up, either use a different email address or contact us.  We apologize for any inconvenience.';
COM_mail ("myemailaddress@mysite.com", "Email Address from mistacronks.com","nRegistration from mistacronks.com attempted", "DO_NOT_REPLY@mysite.net");

        }

 


What I would like to do now is to require my 150 existing users to enter their full names. I thought when a user logs in I could check for the full name and if empty load usersettings with a msg= message that they must enter their full name. What I need to know is the best place to add the code that does the full name check.


Status: offline

JRGilliam

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 11/11/2006
Posts: 8
For anyone else who had a problem with Blaine's custom registration example, where you did exactly what he instructed, but when a new user tried to register, nothing happened (the page refreshed with no error or confirmation msg, and the user was not added to the db), here's why:

First of all, Toby's suggestion didn't work for me. I was excited that he was on to something, but all it did was kick out a Warning message that there was a parse error in lib-custom.php -- the second argument was still expected.

Blaine's instructions said to "replace the example custom user-registration functions in system/lib-custom.php with the ones included in his archive." That was absolutely right!

However, there is an additional function in the original lib-custom.php at the very end of all the other custom user-registration functions called custom_usercheck (which checks to see if all required info has been entered) that also must be replaced or commented out.

Once I did that, the entire custom registration example worked perfectly!

Now I just have to figure out what needs to change, and where, if I want to add additional user profile fields.

If this PHP/MySQL novice got this far, I can go even further! Thanks!
____________
JR Gilliam

Will

Anonymous
confused
Hi Guys

I'm new to Geeklog, and PHP so hope you guys can help. I have tried several CMS but found geeklog to be the more user friendly one and went with it. I will be converting my other websites over to geeklog as it is much easier to use, anyways, on with my problem...

I have Geeklog installed and up and running no problems, aslo have the PHPBB Bridge installed all working fine, no errors or any think wrong, except...

Due to the nature of the site - www.webhoststhatsuck.com I need to have a TOS agreement that new registered userd need to agree to before they can post on the forum.

I don't need extra fields to add data to my SQL Database, just an agreement which needs to be dislpayed on the registration page with a check box to say they agree, and then allow them to register.

How do I display the agreement that is on the PHPBB on the geeklog registration page?

Or any aother tips on how I can achieve this.

Will

Jordy

Anonymous
Will looks like you will be using the custom registration function to set up your custom page. I do know that you can edit that page in the "lib-custom.php" file located in your system directory that should be outside of your public Geeklog directory ( Near your config). I beleieve you will also have to enabe the custom registration function in the lib-custom.php. Ther will be directions in the commnents. I think yo uwill be able to type the message into the custome reg section of the lib-custom.php. I believe yo will also put your radio button in that section as well.

I am not really completely sure about the particulars but I think you will at least be getting started. Read thru all the previous posts for help and you may be able to get it done.

good luck,

Jordyd

Will

Anonymous
cheerful
Hi Jordy

Thanks, I will start to play around in the areas you suggested.

Because of legal reasons I need to have a TOS due to the nature or the site, and to cover my butt over being sued.

Wonder if I just edit the text above the fields with the TOS, mmmmm

Anyways...
Cheers from Down Under.

Will


Eddy

Anonymous
Hi guys. Trying to set up this and keep getting the following error :

PHP Formatted Code
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in /home/crewlink/system/lib-custom.php on line 554


Only thing is that there is NO line 554......

Any ideas, guys!?

Status: offline

geegee1

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 30/11/2007
Posts: 5
Hi

OH! its great

Status: offline

slug

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 17/04/2008
Posts: 3
I have a question reguarding the provided example that Blaine put together. If i wanted to add multiple required lines for registration would i just duplicate step one

PHP Formatted Code

CREATE TABLE `gl_localuserinfo` (
  `uid` mediumint(8) NOT NULL default '0',
  `grad_year` varchar(4) NOT NULL default '',
  KEY `uid` (`uid`)
) TYPE=MyISAM;
 


and change 'grad_year' to something else?

Status: offline

luizcruz

Forum User
Newbie
Registered: 26/05/2008
Posts: 5
Quote by: jordydme

These are Blaine's instructions below:

PHP Formatted Code

Date: April 15, 2005
Author: Blaine Lang  - blaine@portalparts.com
www.portalparts.com

Geeklog Custom Membership example with all needed code included.

This example will prompt a new user for additional fields when registering.
User Full Name and Graduation year

The Full Name is already a field that is maintained by Geeklog but not prompted for at registration time.
The Graduation Year is not and we will setup a new table to store this extra information.
Any new information should be maintained in a separate table and don't re-use or extend Core Geeklog tables.

Using the Custom Registration Feature requires some PHP and MySQL skills. This example in addition to
the notes and example functions in lib-custom should be sufficient to guide you in adding additional fields.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>





Hello,

If full Name, homepage and email is already a field that is maintained by Geeklog but not prompted for at registration time.
how do I set for homepage use too.

Thanks
Luiz


schneider

Anonymous
I want to put a random letter/number gen checker on my registration page to stop spam log ins how do I go about this? I assume it can be done since it's on this site... (any plugins which may help in the long run?)

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by: schneider

I want to put a random letter/number gen checker on my registration page to stop spam log ins how do I go about this? I assume it can be done since it's on this site... (any plugins which may help in the long run?)


You're looking for the CAPTCHA plugin ...

bye, Dirk

Rob

Anonymous
Where can I find an example of the code to insert into my webpage to run geeklog?

Status: offline

Dirk

Site Admin
Admin
Registered: 12/01/2002
Posts: 13073
Location:Stuttgart, Germany
Quote by: Rob

Where can I find an example of the code to insert into my webpage to run geeklog?


What exactly are you looking for?

bye, Dirk

All times are EDT. The time is now 04:41 pm.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content