Welcome to Geeklog, Anonymous Thursday, March 28 2024 @ 04:31 pm EDT

Geeklog Forums

Importing Invision Members into Geeklog Possible?

Importing Invision Members into Geeklog Possible?

Anonymous
Hi, I currently have a community that has around 550 members using Invision 1.2. I am really impressed with Geeklog and want to use it for my community, ditching Invisionboard, and also using Geeklog forum.

Does anyone know how I could the import user data (username /passwords) from my IB MySQL database into the Geeklog database so that when my brand new Geeklog site is up I have those 550 members still?

DTrumbower

Forum User
You will have to copy the user and insert them into the geeklog using SQL. Take a look at the database structure and map the fields out. Start by looking at gl_users.

Poppet

Anonymous
Sadly, I am not a programmer Cry

I reckon if some clever person could write a little plugin that extracts the Invision users/passwords and inserts them into the Geeklog database it would be very helpful to a lot of people!

Poppet

Anonymous
Quote by Poppet: Sadly, I am not a programmer Cry

I reckon if some clever person could write a little plugin that extracts the Invision users/passwords and inserts them into the Geeklog database it would be very helpful to a lot of people!

Actually I just realised, the forum categories/topics would need taking out too and putting into Geeklog forum...seems like a big project.

exaurdon

Forum User
Regular Poster
Well, one way to get something like this done, when it is something that you need, and you are not a programmer, is to hire a programmer to do it for you=) Better yet, get together with some other Invision users and pool your resources to hire a programmer.

(No, I'm not offering, I'm far too busy) But there are many people involved with Geeklog who probably would be willing to spend some time writing some scripts to transfer data from the Invision database to the geeklog database for a fee.