Welcome to Geeklog Tuesday, October 17 2017 @ 02:53 pm EDT


Status: offline

suprsidr

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/12/2004
Posts: 555
Location:Champaign, Illinois
I don't think I've ever once used plain text mode.
Try the other modes, I think the text area naming conventions differ between the modes.

It's be hard to pull the text from #introtext if it does not exist.

-s
FlashYourWeb and Your Gallery with the E2 XML Media Player for Gallery2 - http://www.flashyourweb.com

Status: offline

webbadass

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 20/05/2003
Posts: 49
I tried posting an image to facebook in all 3 modes and it would not go. I was using the IMAGES function under the 'Images' tab. and i got this error in text mode - the others gave me no error and no image on facebook either. The main question this error raises is that it is trying to find an image named "Facebook4_1.jpg" - I had no images named "Facebook4" - Facebook4 is the story name, not the image name - does the facebook post function use the name of the image itself?


Status: offline

suprsidr

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/12/2004
Posts: 555
Location:Champaign, Illinois
I've already stated the reasons why images are not sent to facebook.
AND what do you think facebook would do with [image1_left] anyways?

-s
FlashYourWeb and Your Gallery with the E2 XML Media Player for Gallery2 - http://www.flashyourweb.com

Status: offline

webbadass

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 20/05/2003
Posts: 49
Quote by: suprsidr

I've already stated the reasons why images are not sent to facebook.
AND what do you think facebook would do with [image1_left] anyways?

-s



Super - You did not state the reasons why images are not sent to facebook - not in this thread anyways. I do appreciate the help but dont tell me to reread something that was not helpful in solving my ongoing problem. Please, if you are going to take the time to post an answer, take the time to explain it a little differently - more clearly. What is in this thread has not worked. The bottom line is I have no idea how you got your image to post.

I have tried to use the filemanager and the [imagex] methods with all post modes and it doesnt work. It renamed that one image but still would NOT post it. Am i supposed to use a path, use filename that is the same as my article title, what? I have no idea.'

Status: offline

suprsidr

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/12/2004
Posts: 555
Location:Champaign, Illinois
I can attach a picture as well, but they stick it between your profile pic and the text, squeezing the text into a small column.
If I don't attach an image they fill the space w/ a 50x50px blank gif. which also squeezes the text over into the small column.
So I attach geeklog's default 1x1px speck.gif to avoid the squeeze.



I have tried to use the filemanager and the [imagex] methods with all post modes and it doesnt work.

I'm simply not attaching images for the reasons quoted above. Still.
FlashYourWeb and Your Gallery with the E2 XML Media Player for Gallery2 - http://www.flashyourweb.com

Status: offline

webbadass

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 20/05/2003
Posts: 49
Quote by: suprsidr

I can attach a picture as well, but they stick it between your profile pic and the text, squeezing the text into a small column.
If I don't attach an image they fill the space w/ a 50x50px blank gif. which also squeezes the text over into the small column.
So I attach geeklog's default 1x1px speck.gif to avoid the squeeze.



I have tried to use the filemanager and the [imagex] methods with all post modes and it doesnt work.

I'm simply not attaching images for the reasons quoted above. Still.



Maybe we are both miscommunicating... DID you or did you NOT attach a photo to a geeklog post that you were able to post to Facebook as well... From the post below i understood that you posted an image to Facebook via Geeklog. You did right? Am I wrong? What facebook does with it is not important - they have their own rules - can an image be posted to facebook via your geeklog plug in. Yes or no. And if yes - HOW?

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Flashyourweb/264427206902692?sk=wall

Status: offline

suprsidr

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 29/12/2004
Posts: 555
Location:Champaign, Illinois
DID you or did you NOT attach a photo to a geeklog post that you were able to post to Facebook

So I attach geeklog's default 1x1px speck.gif to avoid the squeeze.

What facebook does with it is not important

To me it is.
can an image be posted to facebook via your geeklog plug in

if motivated, I could add the functionality.

-s
FlashYourWeb and Your Gallery with the E2 XML Media Player for Gallery2 - http://www.flashyourweb.com

Status: offline

webbadass

Forum User
Chatty
Registered: 20/05/2003
Posts: 49
Quote by: suprsidr

DID you or did you NOT attach a photo to a geeklog post that you were able to post to Facebook

So I attach geeklog's default 1x1px speck.gif to avoid the squeeze.

What facebook does with it is not important

To me it is.
can an image be posted to facebook via your geeklog plug in

if motivated, I could add the functionality.

-s



From our previous exchanges I got the impression that you were able to post an image to facebook via your geeklog function.

Yes or no?

And if no I would really appreciate it if you did add it to the plug-in.

Status: offline

gtgillis

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/11/2003
Posts: 121
Location:Spring, TX
Quote by: Laugh

Displaying Facebook comments would be near the top of my list.



See http://www.geeklog.net/forum/viewtopic.php?showtopic=93600

Status: offline

casper

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 11/02/2004
Posts: 142
Location:Skien, Norway
Did this ever end up as a plugin?

Status: offline

gtgillis

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 05/11/2003
Posts: 121
Location:Spring, TX
Quote by: casper

Did this ever end up as a plugin?



Yes. I am running it on http://www.rudebastard.com but I want to wait to release the new version until GL2.1.0 is released.

Status: offline

casper

Forum User
Full Member
Registered: 11/02/2004
Posts: 142
Location:Skien, Norway
Thanks for your reply Smile

I still run 1.8.2, but will upgrade but not sure if I have time before 2.1 is released.
Gues your current version cannot be run on 1.8.2?

Status: offline

masodo

Forum User
Junior
Registered: 13/11/2012
Posts: 34
Location:Indiana US
cheerful
Thank you for the code suprsidr!!
I have been using this code reliably for a couple of years now [GL 1.8.1] and in the last month or so I started getting the following error messages whenever I would open submit.php:

In the Facebook Pop-up...

Invalid Scopes: publish_stream, offline_access. This message is only shown to developers. Users of your app will ignore these permissions if present. Please read the documentation for valid permissions at: https://developers.facebook.com/docs/facebook-login/permissions


Followed by...


Given URL is not allowed by the Application configuration: One or more of the given URLs is not allowed by the App's settings. It must match the Website URL or Canvas URL, or the domain must be a subdomain of one of the App's domains.


I could still post the story as usual but wanted to get rid of the annoying error messages (plus who knows if this problem would cause it to stop working in the future.)

The fix was pretty simple:

On Line #39 of the code presented by suprsidr in this topic is the following:

FB.login(function(response) {}, {scope: \'publish_stream, offline_access, manage_pages\'});

I had to change it to:

FB.login(function(response) {}, {scope: \'publish_actions, manage_pages\'});

And that seems to have taken care of it.

All times are EDT. The time is now 02:53 pm.

  • Normal Topic
  • Sticky Topic
  • Locked Topic
  • New Post
  • Sticky Topic W/ New Post
  • Locked Topic W/ New Post
  •  View Anonymous Posts
  •  Able to post
  •  Filtered HTML Allowed
  •  Censored Content